Pre-Order the New George W. Bush Disaster

I get the mass e-mails from Borders about upcoming sales. This just came through:

bush-preorder1.jpg

I don’t even know what to do with this. It’s like the rumored Dick Cheney autobiography. Do I want to read it? Yes, yes, a thousand times yes. Not for information — I wouldn’t believe anything I read in it anyway, and I’m not the audience that’s supposed to believe it. I want to read it because I, like so many, would like an explanation. I would like an explanation, an accounting, and I would like to believe that I could read between the lines and find some grain of it.

Also, though — I don’t want to pay for it. I feel kind of terrible about that. As a writer, I know it’s hard to write a book, even if you (George W. Bush) aren’t really writing it. Somewhere behind all those words there’s a working writer, and if I’m going to read and enjoy his or her work, I should pay for it.

Yet so much of me rebels from the mere idea of providing even a penny of comfort to the George W. Bush Rewrite the Truth tour that I’m finding it hard to do that, even on a super sale like this.

The solution? Borrow it from the library, I guess, or wait for one to show up free in the mail.

This entry was posted in politics, reading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pre-Order the New George W. Bush Disaster

  1. punterjoe says:

    Ha! I just saw the Borders email, and right next to it in my inbox was the feed from your blog. The snark flood started as soon as the Borders ad loaded, and I too am trying to sort through my reaction to this – though I do know it will be in the form of some irreverent response. My initial reaction is that I want to wait for the audio book. I imagine it will be much more enjoyable hearing him attempt to read it out loud. I’m guessing it’s somewhat more challenging than “The pet goat”. Barring that, I’d settle for Will Farrell.

  2. Jenn says:

    OK, I would pay to hear Will Farrell read that book.

Leave a Reply

