book survey.

Book you keep meaning to read that always gets bumped to second place by new purchases: Oh, I’m about 150 pages into The Corrections at the moment. Also, I’ve toted We Were the Mulvaneys through a few apartments, now.

Book you put down halfway through and never got back to: there are many, and some of them are even books I claim to love. Here’s one that’s funny now: The Hobbit. Oh! Wait, I know: David Copperfield, which I lost three times from the library in high school because I kept checking it out and losing it, and then a stupid, stupid boy ruined the whole story and ending for me.

Book you love and can never convince anyone else to read: I rarely try to talk anyone into reading anything, directly. But I don’t know that I’ve won anyone over to Empire Falls yet, though I think Doug would read it if I mailed it to him (I’m loathe to let it go!)

Book you’ll never read no matter how many people tell you you should: Oh, probably The Sound and the Fury, because I hit my head against it in middle school or so and never went back.

Children’s book that no one else remembers except you: Something about Strega Nona.

Children’s book everyone seems to have read that you’ve never read / heard of: I’ve heard of it, but never read it: Where the Red Fern Grows by Rawls.

Terrific book, terrible movie: Here’s my popcorn answer: The Sum of All Fears. Mostly because they had to simplify it so much, but also because it was a movie turned into a “play on the fears of today” kind of thing, where the book was action and thought combined. And also, the movie screwed up the timeline of the marriage and everything. Beyond that, though, I tend to separate movies and books when I view them (I say tend, because I’m doing a great deal of comparison between the LOTR books and movies of late, and Harry Potter, too, of course). I’ve heard that The Great Gatsby did not translate well into film; I am not at all surprised. I read Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood long before it was a movie, and I found the book better and darker, but the movie still quite likeable.

Book you loved on first reading which on subsequent readings wow, not so much: Hahahahaha, two Big Gay Books for that one: The Dreyfuss Affair and The Catch Trap.

Most Overrated / Overhyped Book or Author, in your opinion: I have to give an English Major/author answer here, so I say this: One of three times in high school that I can remember really letting a full head of steam gather behind my sometimes-impressive intellect was when I took on my English teacher and her love of Emerson. I appreciate him more now, but I don’t worship him. I also don’t worship Plato, though I think at least a few of my professors this semester have him confused for God.

Beyond that, any number of romance authors come to mind.

Non-English Major/author answer: VERY, VERY EASY: Stuart Woods. I’ve read only one of his books, and I weep for humanity when I think about the fact that he’s a NY Times bestselling author. Arrington Barrington! Please!

Most Underrated / Misunderstood Book or Author, in your opinion: Hmmm. I don’t know. I’ve never read much of him, but somehow Karl Marx comes to mind in the “misunderstood” category.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to book survey.

  1. simplelyric says:

    But I don’t know that I’ve won anyone over to Empire Falls yet

    This just came in on my request at the library. I just have to pick it up, finish the other 10 books I already have on loan from there, and get started on it. *g*

  2. kepkanation says:

    hee! you’ll have to let me know, 10 books down the road, what you think of it. What are *you* reading these days?

  3. simplelyric says:

    Will do.

    I’ve just finished reading Beasts, by Joyce Carol Oates, which was … weird and unsettling. Plus it included too many rhetorical questions. Before that was John Grisham’s The Chamber, which was better than the movie, if only because it rounded out the characters more completely than could have been accomplished in two hours. Then again, there are only a couple of Grisham books that I haven’t almost thoroughly enjoyed — like The Brethren. ::shrug::

    Next on the list for me to read (by virtue of the order in which they’re supposed to be returned to the library) are You Are Not a Stranger Here by Adam Haslett, Allan Gurganus’ The Practical Heart: Four Novellas, Courting Trouble by Lisa Scottoline, Tobias Hill’s The Love of Stones, and The Diary of Frida Kahlo: An Intimate Self-Portrait. Whew! I haven’t a clue whether or not to recommend any of them yet.

  4. kepkanation says:

    I really want to read The Diary of Frida Kahlo – I’ve been tempted by it at work several times.

    I completely agree with you about Grisham – I used to follow him more closely than I have of late, but everything was great. On “Caroline in the City,” if you remember that show (and I think you do!), there was an entire show dedicated to Richard trying to finish a John Grisham book. He called it “the literary equivalent of crack cocaine,” in that it was addictive and everyone else was doing it, I guess. The show was actually pretty funny, and always something I wanted to try – Richard took one of the tour buses that run for about $10 from New York to Atlantic City so that he could have peace away from everyone who was trying to tell him the ending. I always thought that was a good idea.

  5. simplelyric says:

    Of course I remember the series! Man, I miss having reruns three times a day on different cable networks. ::sigh:: But, aww, I don’t recall having seen that episode. I wish I had.

    I’ll try to remember to let you know my thoughts on the Diary once I’ve read it, along with those on the Empire book and on that Philip what’s-his-name series, the first book of which I’ve also just picked up from the library.

  6. kepkanation says:

    ooooo Philip Pullman? The His Dark Materials series? It’s very interesting. Definitely let me know what you think.

  7. simplelyric says:

    Yep, that’s the one. =)

Leave a Reply

