The Two Towers, take 2

First: YAY FOR JON STEWART! Even though he beat Conan I cheer, because he deserved to win (as did everyone on “The Daily Show”).

I am reading The Two Towers. Again. And the weird thing is, even though this was the first of the three books I read aloud and includes the introduction of my favorite character, I had completely forgotten how great it is. I was thinking it might actually drag, like it’s the sophomore year of the books, stuck between the excitement of everything being new (The Fellowship of the Ring) and everything finally coming together and finishing out (The Return of the King). And when I finished Book Three (the first half of TTT), I thought – oh, now it’s just Frodo and Sam, this will drag – because I fell so in love with Aragorn and Merry and Pippin and Gandalf and Legolas and Gimli and even old Theoden, and there were battles to fight and future destinies to test and… and now, I’m in Book 4 and I’m back in love with Frodo and Sam and now, yay, I’ve reached Faramir. How did I forget how good this book is? It’s been less than a year since I read it for the first time. Hmm.

Anyway, what I should be reading is Everything is Illuminated, the next book for my Recent Popular Fiction class. We dealt with The Lovely Bones in two class meetings, and I have yet to even acquire that book. I figure I’m going to have to go in search of it tomorrow, perhaps at the Half Price Book Store.

Spanish: Day 22, finished. Woo.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

