if only i could see midnight again…

I am:

* Totally sucked into The Cider House Rules. There’s a number of reasons for this, I’m sure, but partly it’s just the ease of read of the book. It’s lovely and fast and entertaining, and maybe it will cure my desire to go West over East.

* feeling extremely frustrated with my Geology TA, to the point that I started cracking up laughing today in class while asking him questions becaue it was all SO ridiculous. I could barely talk, I was laughing so hard – a bit maniacally, maybe.

* less than impressed with the premiere of “The West Wing.” As I mentioned to and possibly my mom, it makes last season’s finale look very much like Aaron Sorking giving the new writing team the finger.

* way too tired for 11:14 p.m. What is wrong with me? Has Spanish (Day 23) beaten the ability to stay up late out of me?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to if only i could see midnight again…

  1. simplelyric says:

    It was very depressing to see only John Wells’ name at the end. ::sighs::

  2. therealjae says:

    Oddly, I had the exact opposite reaction to The Cider House Rules. I thought it was *incredibly* difficult to read, much more difficult than anything else Irving has ever written, and thus very hard to get into. I also thought it plodded along from beginning to end, and I had to make an effort to get through it. My dad had the same reaction as I had. *shrug*

    -J

  3. kepkanation says:

    Had you seen the movie first? I think maybe that’s part of the reason the book is so interesting and quick-reading for me is that I just saw the movie, and that makes the whole book feel like a “fleshing out” of that story. Also, it’s such a reversal in style and substance of what I just read (The Corrections) that it feels like a happy romp in the woods.

  4. kepkanation says:

    It was. And I *swear* I saw “E.R.”-like moments throughout the whole thing – John Wells all over the place.

  5. therealjae says:

    Nope, I hadn’t seen the movie first (and still haven’t). Should I?

    Have you read any other Irving?

    -J

  6. kepkanation says:

    The movie is (so far) both different from and the same as the book. Certain characters are almost completely eliminated (Melony and Senior Worthington, for example), but I think that so far it seems to be headed toward the same ending. As for seeing it… well, I liked it, but I like both Tobey Maguire and Michael Caine very much, so that factored into the decision quite a bit.

    I haven’t ever read any other Irving, but I will soon – I picked up The World According to Garp today. What else would you recommend?

  7. kepkanation says:

    OK, so, having read another 100 pages or so, I have to amend/reverse what I said before. The book and the movie are apparently telling different stories. Oddly, at this point, I’m starting to tip toward liking the movie’s story better, but I will reserve judgement on that for another 100 pages (the end). I have, however, stumbled upon a few jarring twists in the plot. If the book were a TV series I’d be able to pinpoint a chapter in which I feel it jumped the shark; in other words, my enthusiasm is no longer so great.

  8. therealjae says:

    Garp is my favourite, though I have a special place in my heart for _The Water-Method Man_, as it’s a story about a graduate student in Germanic Linguistics. šŸ™‚

    -J

  9. kepkanation says:

    I will put Garp high on my mental list of what to read soon/next. It’s good to know you like it – I picked it out of the Irving books at Borders based solely on the back cover description, and before I hit the parts of Cider House Rules that I didn’t like.

Leave a Reply

