New BOOKS!

Eeeeee! Today, on their way back to Wilson, Dad and Jen came through town. Maria and I had bought Dad a gift certificate to the trap/skeet shooting range just outside of town for his birthday, so I spent two hours walking this range with my dad and pulling buttons for him so he could shoot the little clay disks. It actually wasn’t a bad deal – just a little bit of walking and some nice time outside, and Dad absolutely LOVED it.

Then, we went to BORDERS. The Applebee’s gift certificate (the one that I wasn’t really looking forward to, because I hardly ever go there and it’s not a good place to eat alone, anyway) that they mailed me for my birthday was lost in the mail (because my step-mother had the wrong address for us), so they offered to take me shopping somewhere. I got a little stack of books and brought them back to the table, intending to weed out a few I didn’t want and eventually get two trade paperbacks and maybe a nice mass-market book. Dad says: “Just get them all, it’s for your birthday!”

So, I got:
Good Omens by Neil Gaiman
American Gods by Neil Gaiman
Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier
Amsterdam by Ian McEwan
Three Junes by Julia Glass
The World According to Garp by John Irving

EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE! New books! So many new books! So excited! May not get any work done ever again!

In other news, the match guy called me again on Friday night while I was at the movie. I did not call him then because I didn’t get home until after 11, and I didn’t call him last night because of the baby shower, so I need to call tonight and hope that he understands why I haven’t called, I guess. But first, I’m going to finish watching the two-hour “Charmed” season premeire and possibly order some pizza.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New BOOKS!

  1. webcowgirl says:

    Yep, American Gods is going to make going to your Spanish class really difficult. Glad you finally got it, though!

  2. simplelyric says:

    Yay, new books and nice time outside with your dad! =D

  3. kepkanation says:

    Yay, new books and nice time outside with your dad!

    Even if it involved wearing ear plugs, yes! And I’m staring longingly at Good Omens on mostly the strength of your rec!

  4. kepkanation says:

    American Gods is going to make going to your Spanish class really difficult

    It’s calling to me. Have you read Good Omens? Which do you suggest for first reading?

  5. webcowgirl says:

    Er, since I don’t like Terry Prachett I’d say American Gods. It’s got all of these little illustrative mini-stories tossed in so you can grab it in snatches and still get a pretty meaty bite. (I need to see if I still have Good Omens or if I went ahead and sold it … I got it before I read American Gods in a pile from a guy who reads about a book a day and I think I read about one or two of the Prachett books and then just traded them all in. That was before I realized the potential value of the Gaiman imprimature.)

  6. simplelyric says:

    And I’m staring longingly at Good Omens on mostly the strength of your rec!

    It’s a fairly quick read. I can’t say the same for American Gods which, though good, didn’t really work for me as well as it might have if I were familiar with each of the multiple gods Gaiman wrote about (or if I were willing to do as others have and spend additional time looking up information on each unfamiliar god).

    To respond to your e-mail, it’s okay about the IM’s. I figured it was something like that anyway. =) I’d planned on last weekend and this weekend being focused on unpacking, sorting, writing, and editing. I got some editing done and two more boxes unpacked/sorted, which still leaves me a lot of work to do this weekend. So I think the next good time for me to schedule a call would be next week[end].

  7. kepkanation says:

    Of course, our schedules are all tangled – though I’m free this weekend (10/11, etc.) I’ll be hip-deep in family again next (10/18) weekend. OF COURSE. Maybe we can find a weeknight in between that works better, or I can pick up with better e-mailing again.

  8. simplelyric says:

    Now that I think about it, I’ll have at least some family stuff next weekend, too, since my mom’s birthday is on the 20th. I could probably talk while sorting this weekend. Otherwise, if there’s a weeknight next week that works for you, let me know. Wednesday is generally the main busy one for me because I watch too many damn shows that night. *g* E-mailing is always good, and it’s not like I haven’t been behind on it, too.

Leave a Reply

