Who knows Hoobastank? Or Alias?

While waiting for potatoes to bake and avoiding doing homework, I stumbled upon “Alias.” I’m sad to say, I watched it — and liked it. Gah. Of course. So I’m going to rent the DVDs now and catch up on what I missed from last season. Is Vaugn (Vahn)’s new wife evil? Am I wrong to hate her? I just “met” these people and I really kind of want to see her outed as a super-secret evil agent–which probably means she won’t be, but you can’t blame a girl for hoping. I won’t ask other questions because hopefully I’ll be up to speed on last season soon.

Started to make trip reservations for the Fall Break Adventure into Iowa and Illinois today, then realized I don’t know enough to quite do that. Tomorrow I have to call these schools and find out when their tours leave and all of that. I believe we’ll be staying at the Iowa House while in Iowa City – just not sure whether that will be the night of the 23rd or 24th yet. I’m a bit intrigued by the idea of a hotel run by the university – similar to the place at Georgetown in their Leavey Center, I think. Anyway, more to do on that tomorrow.

Also tomorrow: My Western Civ midterm. I’m not exactly sure when and where it is, but hopefully I can find these things out tomorrow. The study guide our instructor gave us is full of strange questions, but I don’t feel too intimidated by the test. Maybe I should, but… nah. I have truly evolved into that person, the one that’s sitting in the back of the class smirking at everyone else. To quote Valk, who I really believe should be quoted more often (he’s the English prof I have this semester), “What’s the point in going to college if you’re not going to become an elitist?”

I’m listening to “Hoobstank Fan Radio” from Launch. I’m not a Hoobastank fan, but only because I don’t know who they are (got to them through the Incubus page). Right now it’s playing Staind’s “So Far Away,” which is one of those songs that I’ve heard on the radio about a zillion times and thought, hm, that’s a good song, and then never discovered more about. I like it. I wish my KaZaA was working, but something seems to be wrong. I have tried reinstalling the new version, but there was an error in doing that, too. I’m a little concerned, but I seem to have no virii.

Oo, now the song is Linkin Park – “Somewhere I Belong.” I *really* like Linkin Park, now that I’m past the place where listening to everything they sing made me want to cry (see Spring Break 2002 for example).

I took some time out from sitting at home telling myself how much I need to study for this midterm to go to McDonald’s and read over a fish sandwich. The new “I’m Lovin’ It” commercials have almost convinced me to start a one-woman boycott of the place, but I realized that one-woman boycotts really only punish the one woman, particularly if she’s craving cheap fish sandwiches. That’s my great wisdom for the day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Who knows Hoobastank? Or Alias?

  1. starstraf says:

    Is Vaugn (Vahn)’s new wife evil? Am I wrong to hate her?

    We don’t know – she’s a new character, Turns out I messed up an only got the second half of last nights episode –
    Also still need ER from you

  2. simplelyric says:

    I stumbled upon “Alias.” I’m sad to say, I watched it — and liked it. Gah. Of course.

    ::giggles & cheers::

    is right; Vaughn’s wife was just introduced this season (and her character wasn’t onscreen until the very end of the second episode of the season, which aired 10/5). So there’s a chance she could turn out to be evil. J.J. Abrams — creator & such of the show — has said that he’s hoping people will like her, that she’ll become/be seen as a sympathetic character and not just hated for her Other Womanness. Of course, he could just hope that so that people feel more betrayed and less vindicated if/when she does turn out to be evil. *g*

    you can’t blame a girl for hoping

    Heh. I certainly don’t blame you, because I hope the same thing. Although I have to admit, I do appreciate the Sydney/Weiss bonding happening now that Vaughn’s married.

    I’m not a Hoobastank fan, but only because I don’t know who they are (got to them through the Incubus page).

    I think the main reason I’ve never purposely sought out their music and given it a chance is because they’re name is so weird and silly. }:-)

    to go to McDonald’s and read over a fish sandwich

    When I first read that, I thought you were saying you read the fish sandwich. You know, like if someone says they’re reading over a document? ::shaking head:: My brain makes the strangest assumptions.

  3. kepkanation says:

    Although I have to admit, I do appreciate the Sydney/Weiss bonding happening now that Vaughn’s married.

    Is that the guy who gave her the Alice in Wonderland book?

  4. simplelyric says:

    Yep. He has kind of taken Will’s place in Sydney’s life (since Will Tippin, a reporter who was on the show during seasons 1 & 2, was her close male friend and confidant before), which bothers some people and works fine for others. It works for me, although I do miss Will.

Leave a Reply

