mean-o-wrimo

I love this cartoon, particularly the last panel.

Apparently, I’m having a mean day. Bwahahaha.

I came home from Spanish today and took a nap. All-in-all, this felt like a dramatically better use of my time than Geology lecture usually is, but who can tell. After the nap, I went to campus, ate lunch while reading more of Garp, then went to work. Lovely, lovely. Nothing to see here, please move along.

Tomorrow will be my little sister’s 23rd birthday! Sigh, they grow up so fast.

I am in an internal debate about whether to take a stab at nanowrimo again this year. I’m registered (twice, somehow) and all, but I continue to waffle over whether I will participate. I like the pattern of daily writing and focus that it encourages, but I also know that I will have much more trouble completing it this year than I did last year. It’s not that I don’t have an idea for this year – I have two, both of which are old but both of which, I think, might benefit from a month’s concentration – but I’m not nearly as organized as I was last year. I have no outlines. I sat down to do the 100 questions about your characters bit that I did last year for two of my people and found that, while this character is more developed in my mind than either of the two I did last year, the questions were much harder to answer because I have less idea of exactly what will be required of her in the story. Blah. Also, my classic problem: I’m having trouble picturing solid weaknesses in my main characters. Ah well, I’ll keep thinking.

Barenaked Ladies is on Leno. New album coming out soon – “Everything to Everyone.” As possibly stated before, I can’t get enough of Dashboard Confessional right now. Something about “Hands Down”…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to mean-o-wrimo

  1. therealjae says:

    Do you *want* to nano?

    -J

  2. starstraf says:

    will you use nano as an excuse to not to course work you are supposed to be doing?

  3. kepkanation says:

    will you use nano as an excuse to not to course work you are supposed to be doing?

    I’ve thought about that, and the best answer I can come up with is that I won’t, particularly if I make the commitment upon starting that school is THE priority. On the other hand, I can *always* come up with something to do other than doing classwork, so I figure if it’s going to not get done, that will happen regardless of nano’ing or not.

  4. kepkanation says:

    Do you *want* to nano?

    Yes and no. I liked the routine of the experience last year. I liked knowing that I could stay with something for that long, working on it consistently. It’s just that this year, the whole experience would be different for me – of the now three ideas I’m tossing around as something to work on, I wouldn’t be comfortable sharing much of any of them in progress, whereas last year a great deal of the point for me was in the fact that I did, for the first time, share what I was working on with people who had never read anything of mine before.

    So, hm, I’m in a debate about what my goals would be beyond the 50K mark. I also know that participating in this would stall out, probably for more than just a month, the story that I’ve been working on – which I’m not sure is a bad thing, but I’m not sure that leaving it now won’t be leaving it for another 6 months.

Leave a Reply

