mystic halloween

bwah ha ha, Happy Halloween. Wil Wheaton has Halloween Tips up that no one should ignore, and these are my three favorites:

7. If you’re searching for something which caused a loud noise and find out that it’s just the cat, GET THE HELL OUT!

14. If your car runs out of gas at night on a lonely road, do not go to the nearby deserted-looking house to phone for help. If you think that it is strange you ran out of gas because you thought you had most of a tank, shoot yourself instead. You are going to die anyway, and most likely be eaten.

17. Dress appropriately. When investigating a noise downstairs in an old house, women should not wear a flimsy negligee. And, please, carry a flashlight, not a candle.

and bonus: 4. If your children speak to you in Latin or any other language, which they should not know, shoot them immediately. It will save you a lot of grief in the long run.

because I couldn’t leave it alone. I have very much enjoyed the paid account feature that lets you add XML feeds to your friendslist.

I am only second in my region today over at nationstates.net. Yesterday I was #1. I am the largest of the three nations, though, which is just lovely (Kepkanation is ranked 2nd in the region and 31,277th in the world for Largest Cheese Export Sector).

I went to see “Mystic River” today at 3:55. I had read a New York Times review for the movie that suggested Sean Penn was basically the best actor ever, so I was very curious to see it. I feel I can be mostly objective in rating Sean Penn as an actor because I have no strong feelings about him (in fact, my biggest Sean Penn experience to date was probably that movie that used to play on cable all the time where he and another guy dress up as nuns and escape to Canada). And, yes, wow, he was great. He was definitely and obviously the best actor in a well-acted movie. Tim Robbins was creepy and broken and fabulous, but something about his accent wasn’t quite on. Kevin Bacon, well, he was very thin, but he did his job nicely. This is another movie that makes me want to read the book – it told the story well, extremely well and darkly and dramatically and all of that, but there are holes that I would just like to have explained. There’s one part of the story in particular that felt more like a necessary mention of the book (I can’t think of a term better than to say it felt like a shout-out to the readers) that I’d like to know the reasons behind more clearly. Still, wow, it was an interesting film. Way to go, Clint Eastwood.

I woke up this morning to the television playing a commercial about “Love Actually,” which is on my list of movies I want to see for the year. The commercial said, “Special Sneak Preview Saturday Night!” and I thought, wow, I want to go to that. Well, it’s worked out just perfectly – I’ll be going to see it in Olathe tomorrow night with Chris, thanks to a set-up from . Wish me luck!

And now I’m going to watch the first disc of the first season of “Alias.” Yay. Ohhh, and, Happy birthday !

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to mystic halloween

  1. simplelyric says:

    (in fact, my biggest Sean Penn experience to date was probably that movie that used to play on cable all the time where he and another guy dress up as nuns and escape to Canada)

    Heh! We’re No Angels is one of the few Sean Penn movies I’ve actually watched, and it’s the only one of his I’ve liked so far. And that other guy is Robert DeNiro, if I’m not mistaken. *g*

    And now I’m going to watch the first disc of the first season of “Alias.” Yay.

    ::cheers and bounces:: I’m excited for you, getting to see it the first time.

  2. starstraf says:

    Hopefully you will have fun on the date, and not have it turn out to be awful and you hate me forever…

  3. therealjae says:

    Thanks for the birthday wishes, and have FUN tonight!

    -J

  4. kepkanation says:

    Thanks for the birthday wishes, and have FUN tonight!

    Thanks for being born! And I did.

  5. kepkanation says:

    Hopefully you will have fun on the date, and not have it turn out to be awful and you hate me forever…

    Hahaha, that made me laugh out loud. Everything was fine, no hating to be done. Never fear.

  6. kepkanation says:

    Heh! We’re No Angels is one of the few Sean Penn movies I’ve actually watched,

    And they dress up as priests, not nuns, I know. I realized that after I posted it, but decided not to correct it just for humor value. I think I saw it about a hundred billion times on some cable channel – I think it used to alternate with “Who’s That Girl,” the movie with Madonna, because she and Sean Penn were married at one point.

  7. simplelyric says:

    I’ve only seen it 2-3 times, but I loved Who’s That Girl for several years. No accounting for taste, I guess. =o)

  8. kepkanation says:

    but I loved Who’s That Girl for several years.

    I did, too. I want to say it was Madonna’s best movie (because the character wasn’t a horrible reach for her, probably), but I did like Evita, too.

  9. simplelyric says:

    I’m very fond of A League of Their Own, myself. =)

  10. kepkanation says:

    Ooo, good point. I had forgotten about A League of Their Own.

Leave a Reply

