I like this Friday 5

I bought more books today. Only two, though, and one was a replacement of the one I bought last night and returned today. See, I started to watch “Sense and Sensibility” on DVD last night, and I got about as far as the introduction of Willoughby and the turning-aside of Colonel Brandon before I couldn’t watch anymore and instead wanted the book very, very badly. I know I’ve seen the movie before, but I can’t remember if I’ve ever read the book. Anyway, I went directly out to Borders and bought a lovely Oxford World Classics edition of S&S for $6. Then, on my way home, I drove by the then-closed Half Price Books store and felt guilty for my purchase. So I very carefully read the Borders book last night and this morning, then went to HPR right after work. I found a World Classics edition with the same explanatory footnotes for $3 (I had a very lovely hardback edition in my hands for a while, but I decided the paperback was more practical and also that I don’t really have the money to start buying books based on the the texture of their paper and the loveliness of their typesetting). My real find, though, was a beautiful trade paperback version of The Hours for $1(!!!) on the clearance rack outside. Woo-hoo! It’s just going to go on the huge stack of Not Yet Reads in my living room for a while, though, because I might be on a Jane Austen kick for a bit. I think S&S may be exactly the book I need to lift my reading spirits a bit, and I can already feel that I’m going to want more that’s similar to read afterward. I read Emma in or just after high school, I think, and I loved it. I might pick up Mansfield Park or Pride and Prejudice next. I was, incidentally, less than 100 pages from finishing another book when I started this one last night, and I have yet to regret the switch. I’m apparently more in the mood for the consideration of a few “small” lives than broad, semi-apocalyptic works right now. HPR also had a Jane Austen biography by Carol Shields. That was extremely tempting, but I think I was very good for getting out with only 2 purchases.

Then I came home and continued my quest to eat things made only of potatoes and onions. All right, there’s no quest, but I have a bag of each in my kitchen and I’m in need of things to do with both. Blah blah, roasted potatoes and onions with onion soup mix and toasted cheese bread, yay. Then I returned the $6 S&S to Borders and promptly spent the money I saved on a hot chocolate. Ah, well. Now I’m home and have been playing both Word Wizard and What Word entirely too much. Time for bed and more S&S.

Friday Five
1. Using one adjective, describe your current living space. Disorganized.
2. Using two adjectives, describe your current employer. Flexible, casual.
3. Using three adjectives, describe your favorite hobby/pasttime. Quiet, easy, portable.
4. Using four adjectives, describe your typical day. Sleep Five More Minutes? ADJ: Open, leisurely, caffeinated, charmed.
5. Using five adjectives, describe your ideal life. Interesting, warm, casual, impromptu, important.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I like this Friday 5

  1. franklymydear says:

    Pride and Prejudice is the best! It was my favourite book in high school. If you like Sense and Sensibility, you’d love P&P. Watch Bridget Jones’s Diary or read the book too; it’s written as a modern, updated version of P&P and does a really good job at it.

    😀

  2. kepkanation says:

    Eeee! Austen! I went out to buy Pride and Prejudice on your suggestion this evening, but ended up with Mansfield Park since all they had was the weird CD copy. I will get P&P next week though, somehow. 🙂

Leave a Reply

