yay shelley!

My friend and former boss (the good one, not the evil one) has just opened a new Web site and is selling digital prints and images from it. I of course encourage anyone interested to visit ShelleyStory.com and see her work. If you want a sample postcard of what she does, let me know and I’ll get one sent to you. You need the Flash player to view the site. Shelley and her partner also run Kismia (kismia.com) which does multimedia design. There’s also a picture of her at her art site, for anyone who heard a lot about her but hasn’t ever put a face to the name.

Also, I just finished Sense and Sensibility. I ran out to Half Price Books to get a copy of Pride and Prejudice as soon as the ending was near for this one, but they only had a $6 copy (with interactive study-guide CD included). I instead picked up Mansfield Park for $3.20. I will either get P&P at the library next week or through amazon or half.com, both of which seem to have copies for $.75. Having finished S&S, I am left where I always am at the end of good books – sad to see new “friends” go. I’m divided between eagerness to start a new read and a sort of restfulness where I just want to sit and process for a while, and sigh over Elinor and Edward and Marianne and Colonel Brandon and everyone. This reading did, however, convince me to start toting around my little reading notebook again so I can jot down particularly amusing/insightful/well-written quotes. One that I particularly liked from this book was on page 220 of my edition:

Elinor agreed to it all, for she did not think he deserved the compliment of rational opposition.

How many times have I thought exactly THAT of someone! Good grief. That totally explains why I rarely speak up in classes, particularly when the topics turn to politics or anything where most arguments are based wholly on conjecture and opinion.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to yay shelley!

  1. simplelyric says:

    Elinor agreed to it all, for she did not think he deserved the compliment of rational opposition.

    ::nodding:: Indeed. [I was going to say more, but it’s really just all agreement with that point.]

Leave a Reply

