a brief break from P&P

So, I tried to go to bed kind of early last night – I was in bed, book in hand, at or near 11, I think. But then – gah! Pride and Prejudice! I’m in love. I may have actually squealed when Mr. Darcy proposed and Elizabeth turned him down. And then the letter! And she still doesn’t love him, somewhat rightfully so but, oh, come on. Obviously they will see each other again… I can’t wait. And Jane and Bingley! I never thought I’d cheer for anyone named Bingley, but yay! Bingley. I hope that gets fixed. Even with all of his pride, Darcy is my favorite – well, or Elizabeth. It’s a tie. Needless to say, I put the book down at roughly 1:30 or 1:45 a.m. and didn’t manage to settle down enough to sleep for a long while. I’m both excited that I only have a little under half of the book to go and sad that it will end so soon. Back to the book!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to a brief break from P&P

  1. casapazzo says:

    hee! welcome to P&P love. You HAVE to see the A&E miniseries, too. It’s PERFECT.

    Y’know what I need? A P&P icon. hmm, yes my precious….

  2. kepkanation says:

    I need an Emma Thompson icon that I will then somehow use to represent all that is good and British in the arts (except for LOTR – I already have a few of those icons. Hee hee). And yes, I need to see the miniseries!!! Pronto! I was just thinking as I read, why hasn’t anyone made an incredibly successful film from this? and realized, probably because it’s too long.

  3. casapazzo says:

    thus the beauty of the miniseries – it’s somewhere between 5 and 5 1/2 hours – and the actors are all fabulous. Read the book again after watching it and you’ll hear Mrs. Bennet’s voice every time she has a line.

  4. webcowgirl says:

    I watched it when I was home for two days with a cold and it was time very well spent.

  5. sakuraigirl says:

    I agree 100%. Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle were beyond wonderful as Darcy and Lizzy. One of my favorite film adaptations of any novel I’ve read (and loved).

  6. kepkanation says:

    I’m completely convinced that I must see this miniseries ASAP. Just hearing Colin Firth played the role seems to fit in my mind with the character’s attributes.

  7. kepkanation says:

    I watched it when I was home for two days with a cold

    I’m now wondering if I can pull off watching it when I’m home two days for a turkey! 😉

  8. kepkanation says:

    Did you ever get a P&P Icon, by the way?

  9. casapazzo says:

    alas, no. couldn’t find any 😦

  10. kepkanation says:

    I’ll happily make one for you if you find pictures from the movie that you like. 🙂

  11. casapazzo says:

    dude. How MUCH would I love you?

    ::scampers off to find screencaps::

  12. kepkanation says:

    Did you ever find any Pride and Prejudice screencaps you’d like made into an icon or two?

Leave a Reply

