I will diminish, and go into the West

From AP, via Yahoo! news

In only 126 theaters, a rerelease of “The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring” added $431,000 to that film’s total gross, bringing it to $313.8 million. New Line Cinema is reissuing the previous two films to a handful of theaters in advance of the Dec. 17 debut of the final “Rings” installment: “The Return of the King.” This coming week, “The Two Towers” will be in theaters again.

That comes out to about $3400 made per theater. If the average ticket price is $7 (which, I hope, takes into account matinee prices at some and higher prices at others), that’s roughly 488 people per theater who saw the re-release. If our viewing tonight was any indication, that seems roughly accurate – figure three showings on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, with 40 people at each show… There really was no one in attendance at our 8:30 FOTR show. We were in a large theater (I believe it could seat anywhere from 3-500), and I’m guessing there were less fifty people in it. I’m not complaining. One of my favorite ways to view a movie is in a mostly-empty theater, or at least in a theater empty enough that there are no strangers sitting next to me. Still, I thought more people would go out to see it – particularly from the fact that the tickets to the show *sold out* when I was trying to get them in October. I assume they sold only limited numbers of tickets right out; either that or the several hundred viewers travelling by bus from somewhere didn’t make it in time.

The movie, however, was fabulous. I *own* the extended edition on DVD, but I still felt like there were parts I’d never seen before. What a movie made for the screen! It was really lovely, but I need to maybe think about doing my homework and going to bed now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I will diminish, and go into the West

  1. casapazzo says:

    I can’t wait to see it on the big screen. ::bounces in anticipation::

  2. kepkanation says:

    It is *so* worth it!!!

  3. starstraf says:

    Turns out a friend of mine was at the 4:15 showing

Leave a Reply

