the gore-or, the gore-or

If you read The Note, you’ve already seen this, but it’s a good summary of my thoughts nearing the one-day mark of the announcement of Gore’s Dean endorsement:

We could fill The Note today with all the e-mails we got about this (including some that went to Gore on which we were bcc’ed!), but we’ll limit ourselves to just one, which comes from a Democrat whose views of Gore are typical among many we know:

“Did it for 3 reasons:
1) dean will probably be the nominee
2) ā€¦ his campaign is as much about a movement as it is about a candidate. Its a clear break for him to reinvent himself with the future rather than being dragged down by the past.
3) it’s a fuck you to all concerned. This is a man who never never forgets, never forgives and has catalogued every wrong that he has ever been subjected to.”
And that is what he will be thinking about standing next to Dean today.”

Hmm, well, it makes me love Gore more (is it possible?) and justifies my still tepid feelings about Dr. Dean. The idea that it’s as much about a movement as it is about a candidate bothers me, because it’s one of the major criticisms I have of conservatives. It’s a monster that tends to eat its young. Also, the candidate eventually has to govern, and there’s little guarantee that the movement will accompany him… blah. All excuses with no explanation for my lack of Dean-love.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the gore-or, the gore-or

  1. franklymydear says:

    I am still so ambivalent about Dean. On one side, I am concerned that he will just be another George McGovern… that there’s something about the shiftiness of his personality/voting record that disturbs me. It’s scary that Bush’s approval rating is so high right now and here’s this candidate (whom I used to support very strongly, but now am not so sure about) who seems to waffle on every issue but this one: No more Bush. That’s a fine platform during a campaign, but as you said, to campaign is not to govern.

    I also think it’s interesting that Gore is suddenly coming into his own and displaying these great campaign skills now when he is not on the campaign trail. Someone on MSNBC remarked something about that, and I found I had to agree with them.

  2. kepkanation says:

    I am still so ambivalent about Dean. I’m glad I’m not the only one. šŸ™‚

    I also think it’s interesting that Gore is suddenly coming into his own and displaying these great campaign skills now when he is not on the campaign trail.

    Weirdly, that seems to happen to a lot of people after their campaigns end – I don’t know if it’s because the pressure is off or what, but Gore’s been an excellent example of it. Really, he’s been twice the candidate since the “loss” in 2000 – it’s so frustrating!

Leave a Reply

