me today

OK, quick news and notes. 1). Classes are finished. Yay! I have four finals and a paper to get through next week, three of which concern me, two of which are on Monday.

2). Went to see “The Two Towers” extended edition yesterday in Olathe with and Pooch. It was very good. Almost all of the extensions in this movie were scenes that I loved, but also scenes that I think I’m glad *weren’t* in the original, as most of them slow the action of the movie considerably. I take it back, I wish the added scene with Aragorn and Gandalf would have made the original cut, even though it’s pure exposition. Also, I wish more of Faramir’s assistance to the hobbits had been in the original cut, but again, this is just because he’s my favorite in the books. I’m getting really dorkily excited for “Return of the King” and I’m having a hard time resisting the temptation of the 12:01 a.m. Tuesday/Wednesay showing. I’ve even been listening to my soundtracks again. My love for Howard Shore knows no bounds.

3). I have this dreaded flu thing that’s been going around. I had started to wonder if I might be catching something yesterday, but felt better by evening… and then had a terrible night of fever and chills and all. Today’s been a little dreadful. I called off all other activity and laid around at home after a trip to the store for juice, water, etc.

4). I’ve spent the evening listening to the cast commentary for “TTT” and reading The DaVinci Code, which I picked up on a whim at Borders yesterday and bought through Borders/Amazon.com today for $14.97. It’s pretty good, I have to admit. I don’t know how I moved from Jane Austen to this strange art/religion mystery, but it’s been a good change at the moment. Maybe this is because Mansfield Park was a disappointment to me (though I was forewarned).

The end.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to me today

  1. simplelyric says:

    1. I wish you much luck on any remaining finals/papers. Hurray for being done with classes, though!

    2. I loved so many of the additional scenes in the extended editions of FotR and TTT. I’m thrilled that I got to see those versions in the theater, and in most cases I would have preferred to have seen those versions every time. There were only a couple of scenes that I would’ve preferred to go without, and I can’t even think of what they were right now. I do know it bothers me that I can’t recall whether or not Aragorn’s age was ever stated so conclusively in the book(s) or whether that 87 bit was conjecture.

    3. I hope you feel better soon (or possibly feel better already)!

    4. I haven’t read Mansfield Park. I own a recent movie version of it that I enjoy quite a bit, but I’ve heard it’s rather untrue to the book — although that might have a lot to do with the fact that this movie is based not only on the eponymous book but also on Austen’s personal journals. ::shrugs:: You’re welcome to borrow/watch it if you’d like.

  2. kepkanation says:

    2. I completely agree that the extended editions of Fellowship and TTT are the superior versions of the movies. The extension of TTT changed the movie so drastically in both story and timing that it would have been an entirely different experience to have seen it first – it would have been a slower movie, which I think might have taken away from my initial gasping love of its action and urgency. Still, I love the new scenes, and I am more and more convinced that everyone who sees the theatrical versions should have to later see the extended copies. (Also, the fact that I *know* there will be an extended version of ROTK already has me salivating).

    4. Is it the version with Frances O’Connor?

  3. simplelyric says:

    (Also, the fact that I *know* there will be an extended version of ROTK already has me salivating).

    I really, really wish they would have just released the extended version in theaters now, even if it would have had different pacing as you noticed with TTT. Because the likelihood that they’ll release an extended RotK in theaters *later* after all the re-releasing they’ve already done seems pretty slim. Oh, well.

    4. Is it the version with Frances O’Connor?

    Yep. And she’s lovely every time I see her.

  4. kepkanation says:

    the likelihood that they’ll release an extended RotK in theaters *later* after all the re-releasing they’ve already done seems pretty slim

    Yeah, I thought of that, too, and it made me very sad. I’m still hoping there will be some kind of maybe “here’s your last chance!” showing of all three extended editions next fall… though I understand there’s about 0 chance of this.

Leave a Reply

