movie procrastination

I need to update my Movies I Want to See list. I didn’t do very well on seeing all those on my last list… a few looked less appealing when they released than when I was looking, and a few never came close enough for me to see… anyway, let’s look forward to Movies 2004, though I’ll start in December. Obviously, this list will need to be updated and revised as the first half of the year goes along, but here’s what I’m looking forward to so far.

12/17: The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King. Goes without saying, almost. I will see this film at minimum twice in the theater. Probably more than that.

12/19: Mona Lisa Smile. I’ll probably see this with my mom.

12/19: Calendar Girls. If it comes to any theater near me, I’ll go!

12/26: Peter Pan. I don’t know that I ever saw the Mary Martin version completely; my great Peter Pan movie experience was probably Hook, which I still love. Anyway, this looks sort of dark but lovely.

12/26: Cheaper by the Dozen. The previews for this have completely won me over. Steve Martin, how I love thee.

12/26: House of Sand and Fog. One of the things I find most intriguing about this film is that the author of the book on which it’s based wrote the main character with Ben Kingsley in mind. That really intrigues me. I’m not sure whether this movie will make it to my town, but I think it might show in KC.

1/9 (wide release): Big Fish. I have a thing for Ewan McGregor. Join me.

2/6: Miracle. I kind of like sports stories. I figure, I liked The Mighty Ducks, and this has got to be better.

3/5: Hidalgo, also known as The Return of the the Viggo. Yay.

3/12: Spartan. Must See All Things Mamet+William H. Macy. It’s a law, since State and Main.

3/19: Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. Well, it’s Jim Carrey, but I’m still sort of looking forward to it. Interesting concept, at least.

5/21: Troy. Brad Pitt. Orlando Bloom. Guh. All ancient Greek epics should be so gorgeous. What a lovely way to start the summer (And it releases on my mom’s birthday! How nice).

5/21: Eulogy. Though the idea of Ray Romano headlining a movie actually works against this film in my book (though I enjoy his TV show), I was led to Eulogy by Famke Janssen and found such a strange and possibly delightful ensemble cast that, hey, I’d like to give it a try.

6/4: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. Despite all of my misgivings about this movie – I still can’t bring myself to find out what the actor playing Lupin looks like – I think by the time the summer comes around I’ll be so ready for something *new* in the Harry Potter series that I’ll rush to the theater along with everyone else. Also, I’ve learned well that the movies are better seen in the theater than on DVD. My reaction to The Chamber of Secrets upon leaving the theater was much more positive than when I first saw it on DVD. They’re all films you need to get captured by, so that you don’t notice the little inconsistencies and the somewhat lacking child acting. And one more point in its favor: Emma Thompson!

7/2: Spider-Man II. For whatever reason, I didn’t see the first one in the theater, and I think that was a mistake. I will attempt to correct it this summer. This is summer filming, everyone!

7/4: King Arthur. I hadn’t heard of this until mentioned it, but now I’m looking forward to it. It’s supposed to be a more “historically accurate” kind-of look at the Arthurian legend, where it’s placed in the actual time that Arthur might/would have lived. This means a lot of the magic/mysticism will be sucked out of it (boo), but it may be a very interesting story nonetheless. And Keira Knightley (Guinevere) hasn’t led me astray yet. Also, the writers (David Franzoni and John Lee Hancock) wrote Gladiator and the screenplay for Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, respectively, so that recommends them both.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to movie procrastination

  1. simplelyric says:

    Hmm. Would I see those?

    Obviously.

    Maybe.

    Absolutely.

    Probably.

    Sure; Tom Welling and Piper Perabo make for pretty accessories.

    Less likely but not completely out.

    Absolutely.

    Huh?

    Probably.

    Nah.

    I hope not

    Probably

    Yes.

    Sure.

  2. kepkanation says:

    “Nah” (for Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind): I originally wanted to see it because it’s Elijah Wood’s first movie after LOTR, which is very interesting to me – but as my esteem of him as an actor outside of the rings trilogy has fallen, it’s not a movie I’m so much looking forward to as a movie I’m curious about. I don’t expect much of it, but I enjoyed the last Jim Carrey movie I saw, so I’ll give him a chance.

    “I hope not” (for Troy): Why not? I’ll admit that so far, my interest is mostly in the eye-candy cast… but I’m also usually intrigued by Grand “Historical” movies.

  3. simplelyric says:

    Heh. I got a bit lazy about inserting the movie titles with each of my responses, mostly because I knew I’d be doing the HTML italicizing code for every one and didn’t feel like bothering. Sorry ’bout that, as it was probably confusing.

    I’ve requested Bruce Almighty from the library. I was sort of interested in it at first but became progressively less interested as I saw more and more previews. (I used to really like Jim Carrey for some inexplicable reason, and now I waver.) Since my parents want to see BA, I’ve decided to watch it anyway, and we’ll see how I feel about another Carrey feature after that.

    “I hope not” (for Troy): Why not?

    Eh, various reasons. I like Orlando Bloom all right, but seeing Brad Pitt in that kind of role really doesn’t appeal to me anymore. I don’t know or care about most of the other people (although Sean Bean and Julie Christie would fall into the positive category). And I just can’t imagine really enjoying the movie — or liking myself afterward if I did enjoy it — when its focus is a war [which I rarely if ever feel is necessary] waged because two guys are so entranced with a beautiful woman [the shallowness of which irritates the hell out of me]. They’d have to turn the legend on its head, to show me lots of background and personality exploration for Helen, like Ever After did with the Cinderella story, or at the very least show the war to be for a more vital cause as in LotR, to make me particularly start to care about the characters and their gigantic displays of machismo. From the previews, I’ve yet to have been given reason to think they’ll do that.

Leave a Reply

