Check check

The first bookstore I ever knew and loved is closing in my hometown mall. I used to sit on the floor inside it (while my mom and sister shopped for clothes) and read Nancy Drew Casefiles paperbacks. I knew the precise cost of the books with tax, and eventually I owned over 70 of them, almost all purchased – and some special ordered – from this store. I know I contributed to the downfall of this store (or stores like it), what with buying almost all of my books either from amazon.com or used. I went in today and helped myself to a copy of the O. Henry awards from 2003. Everything was 40 percent, so… I will probably go back after Christmas. Mmm, books on sale.

I’ve had a day of errand running in my lovely little hometown. I bought new gravel for my fish and a new scarf (fleece, $3.20) for myself. Really, the only other thing I have to say for myself today… is said somewhere else. linked to these hilarious “ROTK” spoilers, and I feel a need to share and share alike. ‘Tis the season.

Off to continue reading Cold Mountain.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

