backdating

So, events have conspired against me on many fronts this week when it comes to communication. As the only child present at home this week, I feel I need to spend those hours I’m awake paying mostly undivided attention to my mom — well, actually, I just have a deeper understanding for how I’ve spent many former holidays/breaks at home tied to the computer, so I’ve been waiting until she’s in bed before turning the thing on. Unfortunately, this means my own time is a little limited, because, hey, end of the day, I’m starting to a) get tired, which is just so weird for me, and b) I’m itching to get back to a new book I’ve started (The Red Tent, by Anita Diamant, my first book for 2004) and to my new notebook, which has proved a lovely way of getting down bits and snags of something I am really enjoying the hell out of putting together at the moment. Hee hee. Also, my phone is still dead dead dead. I weep for its passing but hope to possibly get a new one soon – perhaps a camera phone, which I will use and abuse like the crazy kid I am.

Anyway, I’m not only not caught up on the brilliant 2004 ramblings of you all, I’m behind in e-mail, I’m lost for voice mail, and I’ve only just sealed half of my Christmas cards, many of which have cryptic crack-like messages that I cannot explain. During the course of today I have melted a stockpot-shaped circle into the floor of my mom’s car, been beaten soundly at cards by my grandfather, and watched Tobey Maguire’s screen test for Spider-Man, all of which left me struggling between laughing a lot and feeling vaguely embarrassed for all involved. I’m trying to get one post written every day this year (written, not necessarily posted, because there will, of course, be days spent away from the computer that I’m ready to make allowance for now), naming 2004 the Best Documented Year of Jenn ever, so I had to throw in my first two cents. Woo-hoo, it’s all weird and crazy so far.

I must say the announcement of Jim Carrey as a character in the movie version of A Series of Unfortunate Events in 2004 has kind of put me in a wary mood.

Tomorrow, off to Wichita with Mom for a day of spending gift certificates, first at Macaroni Grill, then at Borders and Barnes & Noble. Ohhh beautiful new books, how I love thee.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to backdating

  1. therealjae says:

    You, getting tired when your mom goes to bed? Have you reset your internal clock at last?

    -J

  2. kepkanation says:

    Oh, I really hope not. I’m still sleeping ’til noon, so I’m not reset – I’m just recharging. 😉

Leave a Reply

