Guido has left the building.

First non-backdated post of 2004, because apparently the spam-blocker I tried to install on my mom’s computer has been having a little fight with Internet Explorer. Bleh.

The news of the day, of course, is that my beloved fish, my five-year-old goldfish, the lovely Guido, has died. Now, I’ve basically been thinking “he could go at any time” since the first month I got him, but he’s really hung around well. I think, though, this last trip home was his undoing, and I feel really awful about it. I decided to buy him new gravel, because his old gravel was starting to lose its finish, which worried me a little as to its usefulness and safety for him. So I bought this new black gravel, of the same brand, I believe, as his last gravel. I think I did everything right in changing it – I rinsed it and rinsed it, and then I let it sit and dry really well before we added the water and the fish back to the bowl. Apparently, I didn’t rinse well enough, because the stupid foul gravel was still dusty, I think. The water got cloudy, and starting right away after the water switch, he stopped eating. Usually, after I change his water, he kind of mopes around on the bottom for a few days, and then he gets over it and all is well. I’ve never, ever before seen him not eat, though, and he’s basically refused all food since the change (before Christmas). Finally after Christmas, the day before New Years, in fact, we re-changed the water and took out the gravel (at this point, I discovered it left dust in my hands – all the black finish was scuffing off). He kept hanging out at the bottom, though he seemed to have a brief upswing just after the water was changed where he swam around interestedly again for a bit.

Anyway, he died sometime in the night, his last feeding still floating uneaten at the top of the tank, and my mother broke it to me when I woke up this morning. I am much sadder than I thought I would be – he’s just a little fish, after all, but he’s been around for a while, and I got very attached. So, anyway, here’s to Guido, the best (and possible oldest) goldfish ever. As he’s been both a well-traveled and well-loved fish, tomorrow I will be giving him the “eventual burial at sea” that had been previously planned for him, and I bought a lovely bouquet of green sparkling (I’m not kidding about either of those attributes – they were dyed green and they have glitter on them) daisies from Wal-Mart for him. *Sniffle*.

I can’t decide whether I’ll jump right back into the world of fish ownership or not. Maybe it’s time for a change. Maybe it’s time… for a hedgehog.

Beyond that grim morning news, it’s been a fairly OK day. We went to IHOP and then out to get my mom’s Little Sister for the afternoon, whom we brought back to the house for some games. We played Perfection and Life. The new version of the game of Life is so much more confusing than the old version – has anyone else noticed that? Fitting, I suppose. After that, we took her to Sirloin Stockade and I made a poor guardian for her little trips through the buffet lines, as I’m not quite quick enough, I guess, to catch her from, oh, inappropriate uses of fingers and patron-stalking. She didn’t actually do anything truly gross or offensive – no touching and returning, etc., – but I did let her get away with a plate that included as its main courses sunflower seeds and sandwich pickles, which she ate as though they were any other vegetable, and then a dessert of ice cream smothered in butterscotch and topped with M&M’s and *candy corn*. Blech.

Then we came home and watched Pirates of the Caribbean, which I think my mother found mildly amusing. We watched with the captions on and I was amazed by how many lines I’d apparently never fully understood before. Also, I didn’t know it was spelled “parley,” not “parlez.” Live and learn, I guess.

Now, I’m watching Spider-Man, and I intend to stay awake and interested for the whole thing. Really, I honestly do. Seriously. Off I go. With one note: why is Kirsten Dunst one of the next-big-thing actresses? She’s all right, but I still think she hit her peak for me in Drop Dead Gorgeous.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Guido has left the building.

  1. casapazzo says:

    Very sorry to hear about Guido – alas, poor Guido, we scared you with Furbies, but hardly knew ye. ::hugs::

    I don’t know when “parlez” became anglicized into “parley,” but I wouldn’t be surprised if it was during the 100 Years War, or one of those other particularly busy periods of Anglo-French antagonism. I wonder though if modern French has its own specific word for “to talk under truce,” or if they continue to just use the infinitive (is that right? My grammar memory is shot.) form.

    Kirsten Dunst….everyone keeps hoping that she’ll actually use the acting chops we know she possesses (see: Interview with the Vampire, The Virgin Suicides (or so I’ve heard)) instead of following Reese Witherspoon’s career path.

  2. starstraf says:

    I’m sorry for your loss. My guido go swimming with the big fishies

  3. kepkanation says:

    Kirsten Dunst….everyone keeps hoping that she’ll actually use the acting chops we know she possesses (see: Interview with the Vampire, The Virgin Suicides (or so I’ve heard)) instead of following Reese Witherspoon’s career path.

    Oh, that’s the perfect description! See, I’d sort of forgotten about Interview with the Vampire (and haven’t seen The Virgin Suicides. My KD exposure has been mostly many, many viewings of Drop Dead Gorgeous, a few of Spider-Man and maybe one look each at Bring it On and parts of The Cat’s Meow. At least in Meow it seemed like she had a script to really go to town with, but… still, I’m lukewarm. I’m trying to remember if she’s been the lead in any blatant boy-meets-then-loses-girl romantic comedies, but I’m drawing a blank.

  4. casapazzo says:

    crazy/beautiful was fairly standard sort of in that category – not a romantic comedy, and a little bit better than teen romance fare, but still fairly predictable.

  5. simplelyric says:

    Oh, no. ::hugs you and raises a glass of purified water in Guido’s honor::

  6. kepkanation says:

    Guido would appreciate the sentiment, I’m sure. ::hugs back in thanks::

Leave a Reply

