books, books: the musical fruit?

Oh, help me, I’m trying to play with frames again. Anyway, please go forth and find the bugginess in the 2004 Books page at your leisure. Woo-hoo. Which also means I finally finished out the 2003 list. Yay!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to books, books: the musical fruit?

  1. casapazzo says:

    Haven’t checked out the book page yet, but is that supposed to be the “philosopic dignity” or “philosophic” on your LJ homepage?

  2. ellenneithernor says:

    I really wanted to pick up Unless, but I’m waiting till it’s secondhand. I think Shields’s novel Swann is one of the best mysteries I’ve ever read.

    And I really liked The Corrections, too. I know it’s cool to hate Franzen because of his success, but it’s an amazing book. Weirdly enough, I feel like I understand my parents better after reading it, what with the whole grown-children-old-parents thing.

  3. kepkanation says:

    HA! You’re right; it’s been fixed. Good grief, I need spell-check everywhere.

  4. kepkanation says:

    I bought Unless used for class and fell in love during the first chapter. I haven’t read anything else by Shields yet, though I keep thinking I should – The Stone Diaries has come highly recommended.

    I loved The Corrections, though I understand why it’s been so highly criticized, what with Franzen actually publicly writing before the book came out that he was aiming for commercial success with it. I think he was secretly laughing at all of that (expected) criticism with the bizarre suddenly-everyone’s-happy ending. The parent-child relationships, particularly the whole idea that Alfred thinks his children should be, in a way, his corrections… ah! It gets to me still. I was just thinking today about how there’s layer upon layer of things to consider and ponder and just love in that book. Mmm, The Corrections.

Leave a Reply

