an offer i can’t refuse

So, four days ago, I had knowledge of only one Joni Mitchell song and had never seen The Godfather. Now I can’t stop singing “Free Man in Paris” and I’ve just finished watching the first Godfather movie. The movie was probably particularly appropriate today, as I saw part of Apocalypse Now: Redux on TV this afternoon and had a brief spin down memory lane to my late-summer 2001 infatuation with Francis Ford Coppola and his film. The question now is, will I see the next two Godfather movies soon? I think I might ask to borrow them from Dad and take them back to Lawrence with me tomorrow for viewing during the week.

I did enjoy it. It was pretty much everything I thought it might be, but more captivating than I had given it credit for. I never really understood how Al Pacino and Marlon Brando could fit their roles, but wow, do they fit their roles. Also today: found out that Jack Nicholson and Warren Beatty were originally offered the part of Michael Corleone and turned it down. Seemed to turn out perfectly. What is it with last-minute replacements working out fabulously in great films (consider: Martin Sheen replacing Harvey Keitel two weeks into filming “Apocalypse Now” or Viggo Mortensen taking Stuart Townsend’s place (thank you, thank you, thank you)). All right, that’s a false comparison – Pacino wasn’t a last-minute sub, but apparently everyone in the world tested for/was offered Michael before he took it.

Today has been another basic do-nothing day, but mentally, it’s been very productive. I’ve been rolling and rolling an idea around for weeks, and I’ve finally managed to get a grip on it – actually, the grip came last night and kept me up until 3:30 or 4, hand-writing it all out – but I feel really good about it. I understand that this makes sense to no one but me, but that’s really the audience I’m shooting for.

Hm. Blah. I have grown to used to the big happy bathtub here and will miss it sorely when I leave. Someone write that down as an requested amenity in my future home: large, lovely bathtub with TV/VCR nearby.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to an offer i can’t refuse

  1. starstraf says:

    when do you get back? Hey do you have have night before last’s alias?

  2. kepkanation says:

    I still have the Alias you were missing before break (somewhere), but I haven’t taped any of the new ones in January, sadly.

Leave a Reply

