News tidbits

Doesn’t it figure that, when I finally get rid of my Rolling Stone subscription, the magazine actually puts in an article that’s really interesting? A Sean Astin feature called “Hobbit Boy.” Luckily it’s all available online.

And in further strangeness, today I had a message from William H. Macy and wife Felicity Huffman, “on behalf of NARAL and pro-choice Americans.” I’m intrigued, in part because when WHM was on Leno last week (promoting The Cooler, which is part of my ever-growing list of movies to see very soon), he wasn’t wearing his wedding ring.

Also intriguing: The Hollywood Reporter, uh, reports that Brokeback Mountain is being made into a film, directed by Ang Lee (love love love) and possibly starring Heath Ledger and Jake Gyllenhaal as “two men who meet one summer as sheepherders in Wyoming and form a bond and love that spans 20 years.” Who recently recommended this book to me? Anyone? Anyone? Bueller?

And that’s the news I have for today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to News tidbits

  1. casapazzo says:

    Sometimes I regret letting my RS subscription lapse – b/c they’ll still have decent articles every once in while – particularly the political stuff – but then I see large-breasted untalented pop chickie #37 on the cover and decide it’s for the best. The Sean Astin article is v. amusing though.

    How much do I love Ian McKellen? “Sean was the odd one out in the hobbits,” says Sir Ian McKellen, who plays the wizard Gandalf. “He’d take me aside for what he hoped would be earnest conversations about the meaning of acting, but I like hanging out with young people because I don’t have to think about those matters. I think I rather let him down.”

  2. casapazzo says:

    Salon also has a good article about Brokeback Mountain.

  3. simplelyric says:

    Dude, I’m part of NARAL; why didn’t I get a message from WHM & Felicity? ::pouts::

    he wasn’t wearing his wedding ring.

    I don’t remember noticing it when I saw his Cooler promotional appearance on Late Night either. Maybe he’s just one of those guys like Jon Stewart who don’t wear their rings for whatever sleazy stupid random reason.

    Brokeback Mountain is being made into a film, directed by Ang Lee (love love love) and possibly starring Heath Ledger and Jake Gyllenhaal

    ::stares:: Ooooh.

    Who recently recommended this book to me? Anyone? Anyone? Bueller?

    Hmm. Well, I didn’t rec it to anyone yet as I haven’t quite finished reading the story myself, but I did mention it in a journal entry fairly recently.

  4. kepkanation says:

    Ooo, thanks for that link. Though I haven’t liked a Heath Ledger movie since 10 Things I Hate About You,” I’m a near die-hard for Ang Lee (the exception being The Hulk and a fair-weather fan of Jake Gyllenhaal, so I hope this all goes through.

    What I wouldn’t give to get a peek at the script!

  5. kepkanation says:

    RS is mostly a constant disappointment to me anymore. The good articles just can’t keep the whole thing afloat — it’s like they’re trying to call themselves a cutting-edge sort of rock-culture magazine while they time and again scurry to super-mainstream pop for their features and covers. There are only so many Justin Timberlake love stories I can take.

    For Ian McKellan, though, I could take a thousand – isn’t he fabulous? I’ve been trying to convince any one of my gay friends to marry him so that I could hang out with him. No takers yet.

  6. kepkanation says:

    Well, I didn’t rec it to anyone yet as I haven’t quite finished reading the story myself, but I did mention it in a journal entry fairly recently.

    OK, maybe you can help me figure something out about “Brokeback Mountain.” Amazon.com has it listed both as part of a short story collection (Close Range) and as a book published on its own. They list the book at 50-some pages, while the story, when I’ve found and read it, is only 20 pages long. Was there some longer version of the story released after the short story collection came out, or am I just totally turned around? I’m very intrigued, to say the least.

    Brokeback Mountain is being made into a film, directed by Ang Lee (love love love) and possibly starring Heath Ledger and Jake Gyllenhaal
    ::stares:: Ooooh.

    Yeah, Oooooh. Jake G. will be playing Jack Twist, Heath Ledger playing Ennis del Mar, supposedly – I’m interested to see exactly how they tell the story, i.e., what will be expanded upon vs. what will be left out, particularly concerning Jack’s activities away from Ennis.

  7. simplelyric says:

    Actually, this is pretty much all I know on the formatting front. I’m reading the Close Range version, too, and since the Columbus library system doesn’t have that book-on-its-own version, I haven’t had a chance to even look at it other than on Amazon. ::shrugs:: Sorry I can’t be more helpful. I could try asking Giuliana about the other version if you’d like.

Leave a Reply

