sometimes that can work a sister’s nerves

All right, let’s all snicker along with this amusing line from an Along Came Polly review:

Smart and Funny Guys are sort of the spiritual big brothers of the Smart and Sensitive Cute Guys, like Jake Gyllenhaal, Elijah Wood and Tobey Maguire. These guys are also attractive but tend to be kind of young, have big saucer eyes, feel things deeply and appear to be about three seconds from emoting all over you. And sometimes that can work a sister’s nerves.

In case you’re watching, the awards calendar, tonight was/is the Producer’s Guild of America Awards dinner in lovely California. Six pictures were competing for the Darryl F. Zanuck Producer of the Year Award, as nominated by half of the organization’s 2,000 members: Cold Mountain, The Last Samurai, Mystic River, Seabiscuit, The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, and Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World. The PGA Award nominees, when combined/compared with the Directors Guild of America nominees, are apparently considered a good indication of which pictures might be nominated for Best Picture at the Oscars. Up for the DGA’s Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film for 2003 award: Sofia Coppola (Lost in Translation), Clint Eastwood (Mystic River), Peter Jackson (LOTR:ROTK), Gary Ross (Seabiscuit), and Peter Weir (Master and Commander). Those awards will be announced Feb. 7, btw. Any nominations for Mystic River and ROTK are unsurprising to me, as I’d count either movie as exceptionally deserving and basically expect both to be shoo-ins for Best Picture nods. Mentions of The Last Samurai and, by reputation, Master and Commander are more puzzling, as the movies themselves weren’t exactly ground-breaking or even critically lauded; in fact, both seemed to be star vehicle-type adventure films with big studio pushes behind their nominations. I loved Seabiscuit and, sentimentally, I’d love to see it rewarded, but I’m not sure it was the best picture, production- or direction-wise, of the year. Lost in Translation was certainly unconventional; I was too bewildered by the storyline to notice its direction values when I saw it… and I haven’t seen Cold Mountain. Still, my favorite is ROTK, possibly because it was the most successfully ambitious. Sadly, I think its size may work against Peter Jackson in the Best Director category – I predict he’ll be nominated, but I think Clint Eastwood might edge him out as a sentimental favorite. Wow, I hope that’s wrong.

I’m intrigued by TV commercials for movies that contain people who have recently become big stars. Particularly of interest to me recently have been the commercials for G.I. Jane on TNT. They used to just promote Demi Moore’s role – now they carefully include not only a mention of Viggo Mortensen but several shots of him. I noticed that the commercials for Clueless on another channel now headline both Alicia Silverstone and Brittany Murphy… I just wonder if TV execs choose to show these movies now because their minor stars are now major stars, or if they were always in the plans and have only recently had the promos changed. WHY AM I SUCH A DORK??? Gah.

Day spent getting the oil changed on Maria’s car and roaming around town in search of a copy of “Brokeback Mountain.” I found it, in Close Range at Borders, and read it over coffee (side note: I might be going to Borders too often, as the cashier guy said, “Where do I know you from?” and the best thing we could come up with is that I come in to get coffee a lot). That’s going to be a sniffly little film, but wow, it could really be good… and interesting, particularly for the Jack Twist character (rumored to be played by Jake Gylenhaal, as mentioned). In short, it might be time for me to pick up my copy of The Shipping News. Also, I made cabbage soup, ordered some flowers, and watched a lot of “Law and Order: SVU,” which will just about shake anyone’s faith in humanity.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to sometimes that can work a sister’s nerves

  1. starstraf says:

    I saw that GI Jane commercial – and the sad thing is it works – now I want to see the movie.

    Is it the borders guy in a wheel chair – I actually met him at a party recently.

  2. kepkanation says:

    Yeah, it is sad — now I want to see G.I. Jane, too.

    No, no wheelchair – he’s one of the coffee guys.

Leave a Reply

