CAMRY/MY CAR

Yargh. Yesterday, my car wouldn’t start when I was leaving for lunch. I figured the battery had somehow been run down – the lights inside would only turn to dim when I tried them, and the power locks weren’t working. I took my sister’s car out to lunch, then decided not to mess with my car yet (as it was frigid yesterday). So today, after talking to my sister, I decided it was time to jump start it. I did everything I was supposed to – hooked the red to the dead car, then the red to the running car, then black to running car, then black to my car. The moment I put the black on my car, the headlights snapped on. This seemed alarming, as I knew the lights were off. I opened the car door to check on it and there was smoke coming out of the radio. No key in the ignition and the lights *were* switched off. So, after consulting with the family on various details, I called AAA and, just a moment ago, had my car towed. The guy I talked to at the repair shop said his best guess was that I might have a faulty radio that’s draining the battery; the guy who towed it said “You hooked the cables up to the wrong poles!” on the batteries. Really, I’m not an idiot – my car has one pole spray-painted red to let me know what’s positive, and my sister’s has a red rubber cap over the positive pole, so I’d like to believe that’s not the problem.

It was very sad watching that car roll away on the truck. I just love the hell out of my car, and I hope everything will be OK (and soon!).

In other news, I’m watching Risky Business on AMC. I’ve never seen it before, though I’ve read about it recently. That works out well. I have a toooon of cleaning to do this week, I’m not ready for school to start, and I really need my car to be fixed tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CAMRY/MY CAR

  1. casapazzo says:

    bah. Stupid cars. Mine had that problem for a while – I spent most of a summer jump starting it every two days (I carried around one of those portable jump batteries) before we took it in and they replaced the radio, which had been draining the battery.

    (bah! also to stupid mechanics who think a girl doesn’t know how to jump a car correctly.)

  2. kepkanation says:

    Yeah, I missed the beginning of the movie so I didn’t even *see* the famed dancing-around scene, and the edited-for-TV stuff sucks. I’ve read the background on the movie, now, and I understand that it was supposed to be this big statement about the evils of capitalism… mostly, I think it gets attention because it’s the first memorable Tom Cruise movie.

Leave a Reply

CAMRY/MY CAR

Yargh. Yesterday, my car wouldn’t start when I was leaving for lunch. I figured the battery had somehow been run down – the lights inside would only turn to dim when I tried them, and the power locks weren’t working. I took my sister’s car out to lunch, then decided not to mess with my car yet (as it was frigid yesterday). So today, after talking to my sister, I decided it was time to jump start it. I did everything I was supposed to – hooked the red to the dead car, then the red to the running car, then black to running car, then black to my car. The moment I put the black on my car, the headlights snapped on. This seemed alarming, as I knew the lights were off. I opened the car door to check on it and there was smoke coming out of the radio. No key in the ignition and the lights *were* switched off. So, after consulting with the family on various details, I called AAA and, just a moment ago, had my car towed. The guy I talked to at the repair shop said his best guess was that I might have a faulty radio that’s draining the battery; the guy who towed it said “You hooked the cables up to the wrong poles!” on the batteries. Really, I’m not an idiot – my car has one pole spray-painted red to let me know what’s positive, and my sister’s has a red rubber cap over the positive pole, so I’d like to believe that’s not the problem.

It was very sad watching that car roll away on the truck. I just love the hell out of my car, and I hope everything will be OK (and soon!).

In other news, I’m watching Risky Business on AMC. I’ve never seen it before, though I’ve read about it recently. That works out well. I have a toooon of cleaning to do this week, I’m not ready for school to start, and I really need my car to be fixed tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CAMRY/MY CAR

  1. simplelyric says:

    I saw Risky Business on AMC for the first time a couple of months ago. I don’t really get what the big deal about that movie is, although maybe I’d have been more impressed if I were a)paying full attention during the half-dressed dance scene and b)watching an unedited version. ::shrugs::

  2. kepkanation says:

    Cars are completely the area I feel least competent and therefore most exploitable in, and yet I still want to punch every mechanic who looks at me like I couldn’t possibly know what’s going on because I’m a girl. I mean, I know guys who are just as ignorant as I am, but they still get the benefit of the… well, I was going to say doubt, but more specifically, the dick. *snerk*

Leave a Reply

