menowrimo month

So, sometime in December, late December, I had this idea. Not a bad idea, but an idea with lots of little interesting bits. And instead of tapping at it, I let it settle in the back of my mind and I poked at it occasionally, but I didn’t do anything with it. And then I had finals, and the flu. Just before I left for Christmas, though, I made a little outline of what this idea might look like if, say, someone wanted to write it out. Outline written, I purposely left my laptop at home and went off to have a merry Christmas.

But the little idea wouldn’t go away. I have often, over the years, done brief bits of writing in notebooks, so I pulled out the school notebook I was still lugging around and decided to give the little idea a go.

I’m now on my third notebook with this story, and somehow, over the course of January, I’ve got 50K words behind it, plus two 10 page outlines and a timeline. I’m not saying this as a “woo, look at what I did!” thing, because the story so far is scattered and strange and often sparse. Handwriting sucks the life out of a lot of my writing, because it’s mostly just get it down, get it down instead of writing it, then going back and rethinking it. Then again, that’s also the beauty of handwriting, because you can’t get caught up on editing one scene or one sentence – there just isn’t room. I’m just excited about it, and as I said I was going to make an effort to be more upfront about my writing activities, I wanted ruminate on it a little here. Also, historically, I get tired of a story after a while and give up on it, and then, no matter the attention it has enjoyed in the past, it gets dusty and neglected and shoved to the wayside, so maybe if I offer this story some sunlight now, its fate won’t be the same. Maybe? Dunno. But I’m working on finding out.

Yep, I’m intentionally not saying what it’s about, because despite all the writing, I’m not up for discussing it at length yet. It’s enough just to say it’s there. I’m rolling it around in my head all the time. And now back to it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

menowrimo month

So, sometime in December, late December, I had this idea. Not a bad idea, but an idea with lots of little interesting bits. And instead of tapping at it, I let it settle in the back of my mind and I poked at it occasionally, but I didn’t do anything with it. And then I had finals, and the flu. Just before I left for Christmas, though, I made a little outline of what this idea might look like if, say, someone wanted to write it out. Outline written, I purposely left my laptop at home and went off to have a merry Christmas.

But the little idea wouldn’t go away. I have often, over the years, done brief bits of writing in notebooks, so I pulled out the school notebook I was still lugging around and decided to give the little idea a go.

I’m now on my third notebook with this story, and somehow, over the course of January, I’ve got 50K words behind it, plus two 10 page outlines and a timeline. I’m not saying this as a “woo, look at what I did!” thing, because the story so far is scattered and strange and often sparse. Handwriting sucks the life out of a lot of my writing, because it’s mostly just get it down, get it down instead of writing it, then going back and rethinking it. Then again, that’s also the beauty of handwriting, because you can’t get caught up on editing one scene or one sentence – there just isn’t room. I’m just excited about it, and as I said I was going to make an effort to be more upfront about my writing activities, I wanted ruminate on it a little here. Also, historically, I get tired of a story after a while and give up on it, and then, no matter the attention it has enjoyed in the past, it gets dusty and neglected and shoved to the wayside, so maybe if I offer this story some sunlight now, its fate won’t be the same. Maybe? Dunno. But I’m working on finding out.

Yep, I’m intentionally not saying what it’s about, because despite all the writing, I’m not up for discussing it at length yet. It’s enough just to say it’s there. I’m rolling it around in my head all the time. And now back to it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to menowrimo month

  1. therealjae says:

    Whatever it is, I look forward to it. (And whatever it is, I wanna know what it is!)

    -J

Leave a Reply

