Not much of a miracle

Man. There’s only so much of Robert DeNiro beating up Leonardo DiCaprio that you can take.

Today worked out to be all right. The best news, of course, is that my dad’s heart is now OK. The heart cath revealed a 99 percent blocked vessel, which a little bit of angioplasty and a nice, new stint have taken care of. Love the stints. I haven’t talked to Dad yet, as he was on morphine for the procedure and if probably sleeping merrily still from its effects, but I hope to talk to him a bit tomorrow.

After hearing the news, around 11:30, I went to lunch with Star at Pizza Hut, then off to work. Fabulouso. I left early, however, to go see Miracle. I had high hopes for this movie, but really all I got out of it was a clear reminder as to why Seabiscuit is up for Oscars. My best guess as to what went wrong with the movie Miracle — because something obviously went wrong — was the absolute adherence to known fact. Instead of developing *any* of the characters, it was just a movie that presented you with facts. The writers, the director, whoever, they tried to make what they could of the little conflicts they had to work with (since the big conflict was a foregone conclusion), but the story never held any suspense. Here’s the best criticism I can offer: I kept rolling my eyes.

Anyway, then, I went and picked up my new CD/MP3 player from UPS, signed up for a video membership at the grocery store, and rented Rules of Attraction and Far From Heaven. Now I’m watching young Tobias Wolff bid good-bye to his mother; Leonardo DiCaprio was about 17 when he made this movie (IMDB says it was released in 1993 and DiCaprio was born in 1974, so give or take, he was possibly even older), but he looks 12. Seriously, this guy played teenagers forever.

I think it’s time for some Grand’s Flaky Layers Biscuits.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Not much of a miracle

  1. therealjae says:

    I’m very glad to hear that it all went well.

    -J

  2. simplelyric says:

    Man. There’s only so much of Robert DeNiro beating up Leonardo DiCaprio that you can take.

    Yeah, I wasn’t thrilled with that movie, even with the diversion of tiny!Eliza Dushku. At the end I mostly just wanted to know what happened to the gay kid, like whether or not he ever got out of that town, too.

    The best news, of course, is that my dad’s heart is now OK.

    Yay! I’m so glad. ::hugs::

    My best guess as to what went wrong with the movie Miracle — because something obviously went wrong

    I suppose now I should be even happier that we ended up seeing Cheaper by the Dozen tonight when we’d planned to see Miracle. (Really, I was more interested in films like Calendar Girls and Monster than either of the others, but our schedule didn’t mess with any CG showings, and I wasn’t even going to suggest Monster as family viewable.)

    Rules of Attraction and Far From Heaven

    Hmm. I was irritated by the former but enjoyed the latter. How about you?

  3. casapazzo says:

    Glad to hear your dad’s doing better. *hugs*

  4. kepkanation says:

    Rules of Attraction and Far From Heaven
    Hmm. I was irritated by the former but enjoyed the latter. How about you?

    I found Rules of Attraction to be a little grating – it felt as though the story was trying so hard to be shocking that it simply lost touch with reality. There were parts of it that I liked, though, and I thought the acting was very good — particularly the Dawson’s Creek guy.

    I wasn’t able to watch Far From Heaven before it was due back to the store; I will have to rent it soon.

  5. simplelyric says:

    it felt as though the story was trying so hard to be shocking that it simply lost touch with reality.

    Yeah. I had trouble figuring out if that was supposed to be *the point*, or if it was just an unintended consequence. And what on Earth happened at the end?

Leave a Reply

