everyone’s a terrorist, these days

Quick food for thought:

According to The New York Times (“Union Urges Bush to Replace Education Chief Over Remark“), the N.E.A. (educators, not artists) wants Secretary of Education Rod Paige to resign because he called them and other No Child Left Behind Opponents “a coalition of the whining” and “In a White House meeting with governors on Monday, Dr. Paige ‘said he considered the N.E.A. to be a terrorist organization.'” according to his spokewoman. The defense is that he has an often sharply sarcastic sense of humor. I have a sharply sarcastic sense of humor, but I think a) I might know better than to make that particular joke in a public forum and b) there’s a pattern of Paige using war-on-terror metaphors to stir up anger over opposition to NCLB, which is a terrible, terrible plan. As the venerable Times says, “The union sees the law as a barely concealed effort to weaken public education and build support for vouchers.” My sister, who is preparing for a life of elementary school teaching, hates this bill and can’t seem to find anyone in the education department here that likes it; of course, we’re all liberals out in KANSAS so what would we know?

Second on my morning reading list of REALLY SCARY SHIT was this article (“U.S. Scientist Tells of Pressure to Lift Bans on Food Imports“), which is buried instead of on the front page, I’d guess, because the source is anonymous and no one has died. Still, not a big fan of governmental meddling with scientific reports such as this. Glad to know political pressure has something to do with whether the food we import is (agriculturally)safe or not.

Also in the Times was this little story (“Senators Threaten to Delay Action on Medicare Nominee“) in which the Bush administration is pushing hard for a ban on medication sent in from Canada. Interesting to note that two Democrat Senators and one Republican, a Senator John McCain, have serious reservations about the bill. Also intersting to note: I think this will piss my dad off. Yay.

And of course, I enjoyed the NY Times editorials today, including the one calling Rod Paige’s statement “staggeringly stupid” (“Another Mistake by Rod Paige“), mostly because you don’t get to see stupid written on the Times editorial page every day, particularly by the board. My favorite was the lead editorial blasting Bush for playing politics with the constitution (“Putting Bias in the Constitution“), which points out that this amendment “wouldbe the first adopted to stigmatize and exclude a group of Americans.” Of course I object on levels other than the states rights issue – I’m not sure I put more trust in states than I do in the federal government in areas of social policy – but I’m in favor of anyone who’s opposed to the amendment. The enemy of my enemy, etc.

I’m feeling uninformed, now. I want to memorize the governors or something. Hm.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to everyone’s a terrorist, these days

  1. casapazzo says:

    Wow, there are a lot of people on crack out there. Shut up, Rod Paige.

    John McCain is a pretty awesome guy. He’s one of the few Republican politicians I could ever comfortably vote for. Yeah, big surprise that big business, I mean, the Bush admin & co. don’t want people buying medicine that’s actually affordable. ugh. hate hate hate.

    And dude, the Bush administration has like, no acquaintance whatsoever with scientific research. I get emails from the “union of concerned scientists” about how the admin is always striking out the actual factual data part of various reports or ignoring it because it won’t support their various policy agendas.

  2. phillyexpat says:

    Re: Rod Paige. He went from Houston’s Superintendent of Schools to Secretary of Education. Why Bush would put in someone with such a lack fo experience is beyond me. My parents just saw him speak at a conference this weekend and they said he seemed “stressed out and pissed off.” My guess is that he’s in over his head and can’t control his stress reflex.

  3. valkyriemoon says:

    hey! thanks for the hello. I didnt know you had a livejournal πŸ™‚ its good to see around, even if I havent seen you in like 2 years. And now I have another LJ to read πŸ™‚

  4. kepkanation says:

    Just a bit of sarcastic partisanship: Maybe Bush wanted someone else from Texas nearby who would *also* be in over his head. πŸ˜‰

  5. kepkanation says:

    I am more and more convinced that this is a sort of “Murphy’s Law” kind of administration – anything that they can do wrong, they will do wrong. shudder, shiver, HATE.

    I go back and forth on McCain. I didn’t like him in 2000 because I felt he had a streak of conservatism in him that tripped my trying-to-look-progressive alarms, but I’m not sure that feeling was completely founded. I like the spirit of McCain-Feingold but not the actual practice… and yet every time I hear McCain speak, I think, yay! You are one smart Republican. That’s a rare thought for me. πŸ˜‰

  6. phillyexpat says:

    I love it.

    I’m surprised he didn’t give the coach of the Texas Rangers a job as Secretary of Curveballs or the like.

  7. kepkanation says:

    now I have another LJ to read πŸ™‚

    Ah, the more, the merrier, I say! Sorry, I am terminally slow with responses. Maybe I’ll run into you before the end of this year (though, no D.C. plans in the works at the moment). Either way, nice to be able to catch up a little here.

Leave a Reply

