inner peace for the other JK

Political wrap for the weekend, which (for me) will be full of Mom and concerns over homework and very little CNN, I think.

The New York Times front-page piece (“Kerry is Borrowing Edwards’s Common Touch“) on the Edwards-ing of Kerry is very interesting, and includes this line that I particularly love:
“If Kerry, who everybody agrees has intellectual curiosity, has inner peace, he’ll go against Bush, who has that, but no intellectual curiosity,” [former Gore campaign manager Tony Coelho] said.
Mr. Coelho described that inner peace as “being able to reach out to people, hug them, and touch them – as opposed to being the brightest kid in class.”
“The danger is,” he added, “if it’s not real, it will come out.”

Because, sniff, no one wants to hug the bright kid. *snicker*

The question I have, a question I’ve always had, is *why* do the “regular guys” of America have such a positive picture of W? It’s not as though he’s ever had any actual regular-guy experiences in his life, aside from the DUI and the cocaine; even there, most “regular guys” would have gone to regular jail for that, instead of home to Mommy and President Daddy with a nicely expunged arrest record. Part of me says that Kerry only has to escape his so-called lack of blue-collar roots until the general election, where Bush obviously can’t make the charge that he’s the candidate of the common man, but I know that isn’t true. There’s something about the man that makes my increasingly liberal-elitist skin crawl while also injecting a bit of self-loathing into my scorn. I think his stupidity, whether a brilliant act or genuine (I think the latter, but sometimes feel the former is possible – see Mimi’s piece below), makes him more accessible to some people. I just shudder at the idea that there’s going to be a race of two Yale students, one who earned his As and one who probably didn’t earn his Cs, in which the A student gets punished for his brain.

Again and again, I realize that my priorities for a President are different than most other people’s. I don’t really care if it looks like he feels my pain as long as he logically understands the things that are wrong and painful. A somewhat standoffish policy wonk attracts me much more than a folksy gladhander. Please remember, Al Gore was my political true love.

There are some fascinating observations about the reasons Bush’s Guard record never came to light in 2000 in Mimi Swartz’s NYT opinion piece today (“In Search of the President’s Missing Years“). Also fascinating: her observations “from the inside” of the Texas press and why they didn’t break the story in 2000.Of course, the Oscars are coming, and they’re front page in USA Today. I sent predictions in for a little contest one of ‘s friends was having. Deviating from my own Golden Globe predictions, I picked Bill Murray to win over Sean Penn for Best Actor. I go back and forth. I think Sean Penn’s performance in Mystic River was incredible and seamless, but I think, perhaps, Bill Murray and the buzz around Lost in Translation will win in the end. I have only just realized that I never actually did Oscar predictions in my LJ; perhaps this will be something to do this evening when I’m procrastinating cleaning the apartment.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

inner peace for the other JK

Political wrap for the weekend, which (for me) will be full of Mom and concerns over homework and very little CNN, I think.

The New York Times front-page piece (“Kerry is Borrowing Edwards’s Common Touch“) on the Edwards-ing of Kerry is very interesting, and includes this line that I particularly love:
“If Kerry, who everybody agrees has intellectual curiosity, has inner peace, he’ll go against Bush, who has that, but no intellectual curiosity,” [former Gore campaign manager Tony Coelho] said.
Mr. Coelho described that inner peace as “being able to reach out to people, hug them, and touch them – as opposed to being the brightest kid in class.”
“The danger is,” he added, “if it’s not real, it will come out.”

Because, sniff, no one wants to hug the bright kid. *snicker*

The question I have, a question I’ve always had, is *why* do the “regular guys” of America have such a positive picture of W? It’s not as though he’s ever had any actual regular-guy experiences in his life, aside from the DUI and the cocaine; even there, most “regular guys” would have gone to regular jail for that, instead of home to Mommy and President Daddy with a nicely expunged arrest record. Part of me says that Kerry only has to escape his so-called lack of blue-collar roots until the general election, where Bush obviously can’t make the charge that he’s the candidate of the common man, but I know that isn’t true. There’s something about the man that makes my increasingly liberal-elitist skin crawl while also injecting a bit of self-loathing into my scorn. I think his stupidity, whether a brilliant act or genuine (I think the latter, but sometimes feel the former is possible – see Mimi’s piece below), makes him more accessible to some people. I just shudder at the idea that there’s going to be a race of two Yale students, one who earned his As and one who probably didn’t earn his Cs, in which the A student gets punished for his brain.

Again and again, I realize that my priorities for a President are different than most other people’s. I don’t really care if it looks like he feels my pain as long as he logically understands the things that are wrong and painful. A somewhat standoffish policy wonk attracts me much more than a folksy gladhander. Please remember, Al Gore was my political true love.

There are some fascinating observations about the reasons Bush’s Guard record never came to light in 2000 in Mimi Swartz’s NYT opinion piece today (“In Search of the President’s Missing Years“). Also fascinating: her observations “from the inside” of the Texas press and why they didn’t break the story in 2000.Of course, the Oscars are coming, and they’re front page in USA Today. I sent predictions in for a little contest one of ‘s friends was having. Deviating from my own Golden Globe predictions, I picked Bill Murray to win over Sean Penn for Best Actor. I go back and forth. I think Sean Penn’s performance in Mystic River was incredible and seamless, but I think, perhaps, Bill Murray and the buzz around Lost in Translation will win in the end. I have only just realized that I never actually did Oscar predictions in my LJ; perhaps this will be something to do this evening when I’m procrastinating cleaning the apartment.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

