heh

From Conan: John Edwards has been repeating the phrase, “There are two Americas.” Unfortunately for him, neither of them voted for him.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to heh

  1. simplelyric says:

    Heh.

    There are a couple of lawyerly folks on my Friends list, and about a year ago, one of them did the “Ask Me Anything” meme that was going around. I decided to ask her what she thought were the easiest and hardest parts about becoming/being a lawyer, because I figured I’d pass the answers along to you in case you were interested. Then she responded, and I don’t think I ever remembered to share the link. So, here.

  2. kepkanation says:

    I can’t seem to find the place where you left the original comment pointing me to read My Heartbeat, but I have just read it. It was very interesting and I’m sure I’ll have more to say/want to say more once I’m a little distant from it, but I’m still sort of thinking of it in the “happy/sad endings” category. I know she was trying to set me up for a not-quite happy ending with the in-text discussion of the difference between happy endings and true endings, but I’m still a little heartbroken over the ways things wound up. Apparently, I am a total sap, because I wanted James and Link to get together in the end, even understanding that it probably wouldn’t have worked or been good or any of that. What did you think?

  3. kepkanation says:

    Thanks for the link!

  4. simplelyric says:

    No problem. =)

  5. simplelyric says:

    I can’t seem to find the place where you left the original comment pointing me to read My Heartbeat

    Not that it matters, but it was over there.

    I know she was trying to set me up for a not-quite happy ending with the in-text discussion of the difference between happy endings and true endings

    It was easy to block that out while reading past that, though, or to imagine that this would be a book proving that true endings could also be happy.

    I’m still a little heartbroken over the ways things wound up. Apparently, I am a total sap, because I wanted James and Link to get together in the end, even understanding that it probably wouldn’t have worked or been good or any of that.

    ::nodding:: I felt the same way. The book intrigued me and made me think, and I liked a lot of the pictures it created in my mind. But I wanted the relationship between James and Link to be re-formed. I honestly held out hope that it could have worked, that Link would find his way, not just through his troubled confusion about himself and his family, but also back to James. I wished that Link could progress at least close to the point that James had already reached and discover that James was there waiting, in a way.

    Ellen and James loved each other after a fashion, but it felt to me as though what was between James and Link could have become incredible and powerful if they’d given it another chance after growing up rather than just growing away.

    With Ellen in the narrative role we lost a bit of Link’s character development, and maybe if we were directly in his thoughts instead, circumstances would have been resolved differently…. I’m not sure that I’m explaining this as well as I could be since it’s been a couple weeks now since I read the book and, like you, I’ve read others in the interim. In any case, I did want a true *and* happy ending, with Link and James getting (back) together.

  6. kepkanation says:

    I’ve been thinking about this book over and over this week, in snippets in between other things. I really miss that character development of Link; I wish there was an alternate text, some version of events from James’s view or Link’s view, something that would give us a look inside what happened when, for instance, Link ran upstairs in anger and James had to go after him to apologize. And I’d love to know how they came to the agreement that Ellen would be “their insurance,” how they would have talked – or not talked – things through themselves so that James decided to settle for expressing his love to Ellen instead of Link… I just tell myself that maybe Link and James start up a lovely correspondence between Germany and Yale, and eventually wind up together and happy.

  7. simplelyric says:

    Oh, my, yes. ::sighs::

    (And right now I’m glad that I don’t own the book, as I’d be entirely too tempted to try writing a bunch of missing scenes for you. Eep.)

  8. kepkanation says:

    I’d be entirely too tempted to try writing a bunch of missing scenes for you. Eep

    Tell me about it, I’ve been tempted to start to fill in myself. Luckily it’s an interlibrary loan book, not one I can return and pick up whenever I want to, or there could be hours and hours lost to this…

Leave a Reply

