saturday scrapbooking with owen wilson

I dunno, I’ve had this strange day that seems oddly removed from the rest of the world. I’ve neither read nor watched any news and the only real conversation I’ve had today was when I called to ask my mother if she wanted to split the cost of a box of recycled printer paper. She did.

I woke up at 3 p.m. Yeah, I rock. First I woke up at 9:30, thought, nope, went back to sleep and woke again at noon, another no, and then – suddenly, it was 3. I think I went to bed at about 6 a.m., though, so it’s not as bad as it seems. After waking and discovering it was a pretty nice day outside, I bought a lovely cheeseburger lunch and ate it while driving around town, listening to my headphones and generally being a less-than-perfect driver. At some point, I decided I wanted to go to Home Depot, but as I passed it by I realized, no, wait, I DON’T OWN A HOUSE. I did (tentatively) renew my lease yesterday on the apartment. I’m easily confused.

Eventually I wound up at Hobby Lobby, which is kind of a tragic place to be on a Saturday, though it was oddly filled with attractive and apparently unattached young men. Still, I think I know enough by now not to get interested in any guy who’s staying home to scrapbook on the weekends. After looking at rows and rows of things I have no knowledge of (perhaps I’m channeling a cat, as I spent a good fifteen minutes admiring yarn), I finally decided I was going to make some scrapbook-ish pages to contain all of the ticket stubs I have floating around my apartment. Armed with some rubber cement, a bag of scrap paper and some lovely pages covered with stars, I finally went home. Then I spent at least an hour cleaning the kitchen and peeling apples because, I don’t know why, I decided to make my own applesauce using a slow cooker. So far it’s going well; more on this in 3 hours when it’s all finished.

While making the apple stuff, I watched almost a full episode of “Law & Order: Special Victims Unit” on USA, because a) it’s always on and b) I’ve seen almost all of the regular L&O episodes, so it’s time to break in a new crew, perhaps. After that, I turned to VH1 and saw “Best Week Ever” for the first time. It did make me laugh and love VH1 again, though I have to wonder – have they permanently stolen Mo Rocca from “The Daily Show?”

“BWE” showed clips of Starsky and Hutch the movie, which, I can now admit, I went to see yesterday afternoon. I hadn’t realized until watching “BWE” that Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson were in other films together, though – and thus, the rest of the evening was decided, as I suddenly wanted to see another Owen Wilson film. I can’t explain it, it just happened. So I went to the grocery store, which carried none of the films I knew he was in, and ended up at Blockbuster, signing my life away for week-long rentals of two films, one of which I’ve been meaning to see forever (“The Royal Tennenbaums”) and one of which I’m too ashamed to admit I’ve just watched. Rhymes with “whoblander.”

And now, chips and salsa.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to saturday scrapbooking with owen wilson

  1. webcowgirl says:

    Yeah, I love Owen Wilson. He’s my boyfriend, but he doesn’t know it yet. Heh heh heh.

    Both of those other movies were a damn good time, so who cares whether or not he can actually act? I mean, come on, are we looking for intellectual stimulation when we decide to watch them? I think not. Don’t forget to get that movie (or were there two?) he was in with … er, I think it was Jackie Chan. It’s some kind of a western.

  2. minnaleigh says:

    While making the apple stuff, I watched almost a full episode of “Law & Order: Special Victims Unit” on USA

    I watched all of them last night. I watched regularly when it first came on the air but then I stopped when I had no TV and I never got into it again. I’ve been watching on USA and catching the ones I missed.

  3. kepkanation says:

    I was surprised to learn that he’s credited as a writer for The Royal Tennenbaums. I think I’ll be happy if he’s half as smart as he is pretty. 😉

    He was just in a movie (other than Starsky) that came out in theaters, but I can’t find it playing anywhere, so I will have to continue the DVD marathon. Shanghai Noon, here I come.

  4. kepkanation says:

    For some reason (maybe because there’s more focus on the trial aspect in the original), I never got into SVU as much as I did regular L&O, but now I’m enjoying catching up very much. I saw the episode where the TV anchorwoman was raped, then killed by a bomb last night.

  5. gotmce99 says:

    Great Owen Wilson movie? Bottle Rocket. It’s fabulouso.

    mm

  6. therealjae says:

    I actually really kind of like SVU. It’s kind of out there, but I like the characters. 🙂

    -J

  7. simplelyric says:

    I didn’t end up liking The Royal Tenenbaums except for one small sequence of events that I won’t bother trying to detail or explain the appeal of here.

    Shanghai Noon cracks me up every time I watch it (and, yes, I’ve seen it multiple times, which is easy to do when one own’s something). Plus it’s extremely slashy. Shanghai Knights wasn’t as fun but was still an enjoyable waste of time.

    Oh, and this past Saturday, I had to get up early to help my sister clean her old apartment before their lease is up. But that night I stayed up until after 4 a.m., woke up around 9:30 on Sunday, and didn’t awaken again until 3 p.m. *g*

  8. simplelyric says:

    ::kicks the random apostrophe out of ‘owns’::

  9. kepkanation says:

    I think that’s been one of two major difference I notice between the main L&O and SVU (other than the SVU aspect, of course): the character are much more developed in SVU. That’s actually why I didn’t get hooked on it at the same time I started watching the original, because I was just in it for the mystery at first. Now I’m very much enjoying SVU, but I wish I was seeing the episodes more in order – the troubles of syndication!

  10. kepkanation says:

    Great Owen Wilson movie? Bottle Rocket. It’s fabulouso

    I tried to! But it’s checked out at one place and not available at the others. I’ll keep Bottle Rocket stalking.

  11. kepkanation says:

    I didn’t end up liking The Royal Tenenbaums except for one small sequence of events that I won’t bother trying to detail or explain the appeal of here.

    Oh, but I’d love to hear anyway. Perhaps by e-mail or phone or IM?

    I watched Shanghai Noon last night, and though I logically see where the slash aspect would be, it didn’t really grab me as I thought it might. Maybe it’s because I don’t have much love for Jackie Chan. Did you know they’re working on Shanghai Dawn? It’s not listed at imdb.com yet, but here’s a tiny blurb.

  12. simplelyric says:

    Oh, but I’d love to hear anyway. Perhaps by e-mail or phone or IM?

    Maybe. It’s hard to … erm. ::shrugs::

    Maybe it’s because I don’t have much love for Jackie Chan.

    The Shanghai movies are still the only ones of his that I’d seen, and I had little idea of who he was before I saw Shanghai Noon, so I wasn’t bothered by him. Obviously I don’t think it’s an epic love story or anything, mostly just fun.

    Did you know they’re working on Shanghai Dawn?

    No, I hadn’t heard. Gyah. I didn’t think Knights was all that successful, let alone the greatest movie to watch. I’ll probably give Dawn a chance, but I don’t have very high hopes for it.

  13. kepkanation says:

    I’ll probably give Dawn a chance, but I don’t have very high hopes for it.

    It sounds like it will possibly be set in Egypt. I’m about to watch Shanghai Knights, so maybe I’ll have a better feeling for whether this is a good idea or not once it’s over. 🙂

Leave a Reply

