improve my brain function in only 8 hours?

There’s some new study confirming the results of some older studies that basically say I’ve been sleeping too much. OK, I suppose it’s possible they weren’t directed solely at me, but why else would they put a link to the stories about the studies right up there on the top of Yahoo! news? Obviously they know where my homepage is.

Anyway, so, for optimum brain function, everyone’s supposed to be getting between 7 and 8 hours of sleep a night. There is literally no better way to sell me on something than to tell me it will improve my brain function, so I suppose I should try this 7-8 hours of sleep thing. I’ve maybe been averaging that, what with getting usually around 5-6 hours a few times a week and closer to 9-10 the rest… but maybe I’ll just go for spot-on 8 hours. That’s going to kick my ass on Monday and Wednesday nights, but… c’est la vie.

I have been listening to much Sheryl Crow (new icon), eating strange concoctions from my kitchen (I made salsa!), reading trash, and drinking more water than usual. Only one of those is probably helping with my brain function.

For some reason, I can’t seem to get the bat off the shoulder in composing the first necessary column for my friend Shelley’s magazine. I mean – I am totally blocked. I have one column that I’ve now discarded because it won’t be topical by the time the mag comes out. I have another that just… doesn’t work. I may have to opt out of the first issue simply because I need to do some research into how monthly columnists make it work. Everything I want to say won’t make sense – or will be sadly past relevant – by the time it gets printed. I’m used to a one-day turnaround, essentially, on opinion pieces. Mrgh. Grgle.

I’m slowly winding back through a week or so (probably closer to two weeks, I’ve been taking a lot of time off recently) of friends entries, so bear with me.

I think it’s very possible that we’re giving socks too much power in this world. Particularly those in puppet form. Thanks, , for the link.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to improve my brain function in only 8 hours?

  1. casapazzo says:

    I was wondering where you’d been. Not that I’ve been around all that much either.

    Judging by that article’s standards? I’m on a rampant brain-cell genocide spree, right now.

  2. therealjae says:

    Hey, be sure to let me know how this sleep thing works out for you if you do end up trying it. I’ve heard that sleeping the same number of hours per night can really help, but I’ve never had the opportunity to try it out myself.

    -J

  3. webcowgirl says:

    Seven hours is enough? Ridiculous. People forty years ago slept 9 hours a night. 100 years ago it was more like 10. (I just read THAT figure in the news a week or two ago.) To me it’s clear that we don’t get enough sleep.

    However it does vary by person. For my husband, it’s 7; for me, 8 is a minimum for me to get out of bed and not be forgetting things all the time. 9 is get out of bed cheerfully and be at optimal performance all day. But don’t feel like you sleep too much! I think 10 or 12 is verging on too much, mostly because if you sleep that much regularly it might be because you’re depressed.

  4. kepkanation says:

    To me it’s clear that we don’t get enough sleep.

    Yeah, I often think that. And yet, I know if I get over 9 hours I spend the first few hours of the day feeling a little sleep fogged, so… I’ll keep experimenting with the sleep times and see what works best, I suppose.

    What I *really* have trouble with is going to sleep early enough to get the amount of sleep I should!

  5. kepkanation says:

    I’m on a rampant brain-cell genocide spree, right now.

    Dude, I’ve been on that spree for decades. If I’m not getting waaay over that amount in a night, I’m generally getting waaay under it. Ah well, so far I haven’t forgotten my name or where I live…

  6. simplelyric says:

    My sleep schedule (if you could really even call it that) is *insane*. We should both find a way to regulate ourselves to 8 normal hours of sleep. ::makes a face that turns into a yawn::

Leave a Reply

