decisions, decisions

I’m trying to decide what to do with my evening. This is always a struggle for me, for whatever reason, when I have a big block of nothing-else-needs-to-be-immediately-done time to deal with.

Factors:
* I did well on my debate today (I want to celebrate)
* I got an A on my English midterm (I deserve to celebrate)
* I am sort of in the mood to drive somewhere, because I’m in love with my car stereo

Options:
* Go to KC and see Japanese Story at the Glenwood Arts theater, which I have never been to, and then find something to eat around there.
* Go to KC and see either Monster or Cold Mountain (or one of the other films I’ve been meaning to see but haven’t) at the Olathe AMC theater – for which I have a “free small popcorn with purchase of drink” coupon. Also in the area of the theater: Michael’s, which I’d like to visit so I can inspect the bead selection, and a Half Price Books store.
* Stay in Lawrence, get pizza and watch The Cable Guy, which I rented last weekend as part of my new Ben Stiller film festival (he directed it).
* Do none of these.

I’m leaning toward venturing off to KC, particularly now that I found my cell phone again. Woo-hoo! I’m spending entirely too much money, recently.

It’s very cold in my apartment, but I’m refusing to turn on the heat. It’s nearly April! We need to be past this whole heater thing by now. I want no heat and no AC (and consequently itty bitty tiny gas and electric bills) until June 1. Most likely I’ll cave in on the AC mid-May, but here’s hoping.

Friends in the U.S.: Consider sending a hand-written letter to your senators and congressmen about the proposed Federal Marriage Amendment. HRC will give you all the details. I wrote Sen. Sam Brownback today, in what’s probably the most useless letter I’ve really ever composed (I mean, Christmas letters to Santa were going to a fictional guy, but I still got the presents).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to decisions, decisions

  1. webcowgirl says:

    Go see “Eternal Sunshine” instead. It will help keep your good mood intact.

  2. phillyexpat says:

    I second the above comment-Eternal Sunshine is amazing. Monster will be just as good on video, I promise. I am intrigued by Japanese Story, if you see it, let me know how it is.

  3. kepkanation says:

    Eternal Sunshine is amazing

    Yeah! I agree, I saw it over the last weekend with my mom and sister. We very much enjoyed it — though a woman in the bathroom went on a rant about how it was “the stupidest movie ever!” I, for one, came out with a new respect for both Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet and admiration for Charlie Kauffman.

  4. kepkanation says:

    I would have gone to it automatically, if I hadn’t already seen it. But I agree — it definitely lifted my mood.

  5. simplelyric says:

    * Stay in Lawrence, get pizza and watch The Cable Guy, which I rented last weekend as part of my new Ben Stiller film festival (he directed it).

    On a vaguely related note, I thought you might like to see this.

Leave a Reply

