raise your hand

Who knew Aldous Huxley died the same day that JFK was shot/died? I didn’t, until (after hearing “She was born in November, 1963, the day Aldous Huxley died” over and over again at the beginning of “Run Baby Run”) I looked it up. Nov. 22, 1963. Huh. More trivia for the masses.

I’ve had a slightly disappointing day. The advisor for the English department (technically, any professor can be your advisor, but this is the department official overseer of All Things Undergraduate) is not my best friend. He seems nice enough, but I don’t think we’re going to get along perfectly. I often have these problems with advisors, and in some ways I know I bring it upon myself. What happens is usually some variation on what happened today. I set up some schedule that I know I can handle – for instance, completing the whole English major essentially in one year – and the advisor, meaning well, says, “No, you can’t do that” or “That’s going to be so hard, way too hard” or something similar. At which point I think You don’t get it at all, I can do this with my eyes closed and he/she senses that I’m thinking it and thinks, You arrogant little child, I’ve been advising kids for 5 billion years and I know best. You aren’t the first to think you’re superwoman and you won’t be the last to fail out. And since we both know the other is thinking this, we become increasingly stubborn – I won’t change what I want to do, and he will be only as helpful as he’s required to be. Etc. Etc. This happened to me in high school and is the reason that I hated – HATED – my counselor by the end of my term (that and his failure to turn in my recs/transcripts to a few places). The only advisor I found and loved at AU was fired for owing the department chair money — he was so fabulous, though, because he rubber stamped whatever I wanted to do and helped me get a few rules bent to do what I wanted to.

Anyway, the long and short of it is that I won’t be getting departmental honors in English from KU because I won’t have the requisite number of hours in English completed by fall to enroll in the honors seminar. I could enroll in it in the spring, but — though I’m still going to ask — I’m pretty sure my new friend, Mr. Advisement, will not allow any kind of concurrent seminar enrollment/thesis writing arrangement to happen. So that all kind of sucks, but I’m still getting the degree and the experience. I may still be able to work out some kind of independent study that will be the equivalent of thesis-writing work with Valk, too. Fingers crossed.

I am debating whether or not to see the “traditional” Friday afternoon movie or not, since I did see one last night. The only thing in town that I’m interested in seeing is Jersey Girl (reasons: 1). Kevin Smith, 2). Jennifer Lopez dies!). It would, of course, break what I believe is an unblemished record of never seeing a Jennifer Lopez movie in the theater, but… Kevin Smith! I think matinee is the way to go on that one, but I can’t decide whether a Friday matinee is required or if I should take advantage of the lovely weather and just curl up outside with one of the two books I’m working on at the moment (Cuba Libre by Elmore Leonard and the shooting script of Magnolia by Paul Thomas Anderson).

On the agenda for tomorrow or tonight: making vegetable lasagna and eggless egg salad, both to be classified as “experimental.”

WILL this DAY never END?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to raise your hand

  1. valkyriemoon says:

    that’s a very interesting coincidence with jfk… hmm… one thing i find interesting about ol’ aldous is that his grandfather, thomas, was charles darwin’s greatest fan and advocate…

  2. starstraf says:

    more trivia – also same day I was conceived.

Leave a Reply

