madness.

Finally broke down and called a dentist today, after placing a call to Dad asking how many Advil I can safely take in one day (answer: up to 2400 MG, but not all at once). Appointment is Monday. Pain is not something I’m good with. I will shortly be taking a nice little caplet of generic darvocet and then drifting into happy happy sleep.

I’m back on the horse at Netflix.com. The instigator for this was wanting to see the Starsky & Hutch original series DVDs. It’s cheaper to pay $19 and rent all five plus some other things I want to see than it would be to just rent them outright at one of the two places that might have them (Hastings – new DVDs $3.49 each for 5 days; Blockbuster – new DVDs are I think $2.99 each but would be due back by noon the next day or day after); also, this way I didn’t have to worry about keeping them out for too long. Anyway, I’ve compiled quite the rental queue this time: there are, apparently, 47 movies that I want to see:

Rushmore *

Permanent Midnight *

Magnolia

The Big Lebowski

Meet the Parents *

Ma Vie En Rose

Talk to Her

Live From Baghdad

In the Bedroom

Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon

The Deep End

Rudy

School Ties

Amelie

White Oleander

Bringing Down the House

Memento

Boogie Nights

Sexy Beast

Roger Dodger

Punch-Drunk Love

Dirty Pretty Things

The Magdalene Sisters

Shattered Glass

Finding Nemo (Widescreen)

GoodFellas

Say Anything

This Is Spinal Tap

Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back

Mystery Men *

Best Men *

Dancing at Lughnasa

Masked & Anonymous *

American Splendor

Capturing the Friedmans

Home Fries *

Confessions of a Dangerous Mind

The Natural

A Clockwork Orange

XX/XY

Swingers

Made

Reservoir Dogs

Daredevil

Gosford Park

The Remains of the Day

Some of these are repeats that I’ve seen before; some are continuations of my descent into madness(*); some are just movies I’ve been meaning to see. I’ll cancel my membership again before I see them all, but… I wonder how far I’ll get down the list.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to madness.

  1. egretplume says:

    There are some great movies listed there. My advice (not that you asked, so I don’t mean to sound pushy): bump up Talk to Her and Boogie Nights, skip In the Bedroom.

  2. phillyexpat says:

    Great list. I liked In the Bedroom, but it’s not as good as everyone made it out to be. And the relevatory performance doesn’t come from Sissy Spacek, but Tom Wilkinson.

    I wasn’t a fan of Gosforrd Park. I got so annoyed watching it and waiting for the mystery to be revealed that when I got up to go to the bathroom, I told my friend not to bother pausing it and I missed the big moment. So, I’m mad at that movie.

    Big Lebowski rules.

  3. starstraf says:

    We like Ma Vie En Rose – I want to see XX/XY

  4. casapazzo says:

    Oh, The Remains of the Day. ::pets it:: It’s a lot like Gosford Park in that not a whole lot happens, per se, it’s just a whole lot of “feel of the period.”

    Hope the dentist takes away nasty teeth pain. ::pets you::

  5. kepkanation says:

    Hee, advice is always welcome. I think I will end up bumping Boogie Nights up on the list, mostly because I’ve had a recent fascination with Paul Thomas Anderson. Maybe viewing BN next to Magnolia would be appropriate…

  6. kepkanation says:

    Big Lebowski is one of those films that I’ve been *meaning* to see for years. I’ve always felt that I’d like it, I just never remember to pick it up. I hope my anticipation doesn’t kill it! 😉

  7. kepkanation says:

    If I get as far as XX/XY on the list, maybe we can share it!

  8. kepkanation says:

    So far, the nasty tooth pain has receded on its own… ah, penicilin.

    I’m really looking forward to The Remains of the Day, mostly for reasons that rhyme with “hemma hompson.”

  9. simplelyric says:

    In lieu of sharing my opinions on as many as possible like I did with the previous movie list, I’ll just say that I tried to watch Roger Dodger but got so bored and irritated with it that I gave up and turned it off after about half an hour.

  10. kepkanation says:

    I tried to watch Roger Dodger but got so bored and irritated with it that I gave up and turned it off after about half an hour.

    I can’t even remember where the initial suggestion for that movie came from, but it keeps popping up everywhere as a “recommended for you!” video. But now I am forewarned!

Leave a Reply

