return to a happy ending? I don’t think so.

I forgot to mention in my list of 47 to-be-seen videos the video that was en route to my house: Crush, with Andie MacDowell. It’s one of those movies (aren’t they all) that I heard about at the time of its release, thought, huh, I’d probably like that, and then never actually got around to seeing or renting. Well, I finally watched it – or half-watched it, as I was busy pasting bits of cut-up InStyle magazines to my dresser while it ran. It was OK. It wasn’t earth-shattering or something I feel a need to watch again or whatever. I am starting to wonder if everyone in England goes to a boarding school run by beautiful Americans. Also, are none of the roads paved, all of the cops dull-witted, and is it constantly spring? Just curious.

Oh, yeah, I saw Jersey Girl today, too. I pretty much cried through the entire movie, even when J.Lo. died (is that a spoiler? Don’t we all know that by now? It’s the point of the movie). For a while, I thought maybe Ben Affleck was the best actor on Earth, but then I realized – it’s all hormonal. I mean, I got teary over one of the previews (for Raising Helen, for chrissakes).

Anyway, that was a mildly amusing movie, though not spectacular (the Will Smith part was really the best bit, I think, and that’s saying a lot). This brings on a whole other rant, though, that I’m only partially going to take up. I have a huge amount of disgust for the common Hollywood ending where Main Character X, having turned his/her life around because of Endearing Situation Y, flirts with returning to Life As It Was Before Y before finally “coming to his senses” and realizing that Situation Y – which is usually something like living back in X’s podunky hometown or marrying his until-that-moment somewhat boring secretary – is really the best thing ever and then, fade to credits and happiness all around. Let me think of some movie examples. Well, obviously, Jersey Girl. Something else I saw recently: The Family Man. Really, any number of movies qualify for this, and I can’t think of them right now. Sweet Home Alabama, perhaps? On and on and on, I know I’ve seen this a thousand times in movies and it always makes me unhappy. What happens next? What keeps X from freaking out again later and realizing that this was all a mistake, the changes are bad, the original life was good? I know *why* this concerns me — I think I realized it, really grabbed it for the first time today — but that’s a whole other entry, and it’s being saved for just my head right now.

Also, I think I might add The Graduate to my rentals list, and Citizen Kane, since I’ve seen neither.

P.S. I am still very much loving The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, though I now have an entire notecard full of words from the book that I need to look up in a dictionary. Reading Michael Chabon is humbling.

P.P.S. Movies out right now I want to see: Connie and Carla and Hellboy (it had good reviews and reading K&C is putting me in a comic-book mood). Eventually I’ll probably see The Whole Ten Yards, but maybe not until it’s on cable. It worked well with the first one – or did I see that in the theater? Hmmm.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to return to a happy ending? I don’t think so.

  1. therealjae says:

    Man, I can’t believe you haven’t seen “The Graduate” yet. You are hereby ordered to watch it and then analyze for me the similarities between the church scene at the end and the meeting scene in “In the Shadow of Two Gunmen.” 😉

    -J

  2. kepkanation says:

    Yes, professor! I will get right on that. 🙂 I can’t believe I haven’t seen it, either. I’ve heard enough about it that sometimes I feel like I’ve seen it. I’ll bump it right up on the list – or perhaps use one of my Blockbuster coupons to rent it.

  3. simplelyric says:

    I think I was enjoying Crush until that point near the end when it got very melodramatic. ::shrugs::

    I wasn’t paying enough attention to the Raising Helen preview before The Ladykillers this past weekend to be able to tell whether Joan Cusack and Kate Hudson’s characters were supposed to be sisters who’d lost their mother/another sister or lovers who were splitting or what. Do you know one way or the other?

    On and on and on, I know I’ve seen this a thousand times in movies and it always makes me unhappy.

    I’m getting sick of those, too, and it seems like Raising Helen will be more of the same — Baby Boom rehashed.

    I am still very much loving The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, though I now have an entire notecard full of words from the book that I need to look up in a dictionary.

    Somewhere on-line there’s a list of definitions for TAAoKaC words, including the ones that Chabon created. I think it’s around here.

  4. kepkanation says:

    Wow, thanks for the Kavalier & Clay link – that will be most helpful in clearing my index cards. 🙂

  5. simplelyric says:

    No problem.

    When I started reading the book a while back, I begged in an LJ entry for the definition of the phrase “omniveillant maternal loupe” because it was driving me nuts that I couldn’t find the first word in any conventional dictionaries. Someone on my Friends list responded with the definition and offered up a link (which I’m fairly certain was to that site), so I guess I’m paying forward that favor. =o)

Leave a Reply

