Top 25 on the Play List

iTunes provides, among its many lovely services, a “Top 25 Most Played” list that orders, well, the top twenty five songs you’ve (I’ve) played most. My list is a bit more homogenous than I would have guessed, but this is mostly because I had one playlist on loop for a long while. The List:

1. “Dream On,” Aerosmith, 42 times*
2. “Free Man In Paris,” Joni Mitchell, 25 times
3. “You’ve Got a Friend,” James Taylor, 24 times
4. “A Case of You,” Joni Mitchell, 24 times
5. “Doctor My Eyes,” Jackson Browne, 21 times
6. “Fire and Rain,” James Taylor, 20 times
7. “The Circle Game,” Joni Mitchell, 19 times
8. “Rainy Day Man,” James Taylor, 17 times
9. “Main Theme,” Dragonheart, 17 times
10. “Sweet Baby James,” James Taylor, 16 times
11. “Mexico,” James Taylor, 16 Times
12. “What Would Happen,” Meredith Brooks, 16 times
13. “Both Sides Now,” Joni Mitchell, 15 Times
14. “Hotel California,” The Eagles, 14 Times
15. “Rock Me On the Water,” Browne, 14 times
16. “Blue,” Joni Mitchell, 14 times
17. “Chelsea Mornin’,” Joni Mitchell, 14 times
18. “Desperado,” The Eagles, 13 times
19. “Wandering,” Ben Folds, 12 times
20. “The Luckiest,” Ben Folds, 12 times
21. “Blue,” Sara McLaughlin (Joni Mitchell cover), 12 times
22. “Weather Channel,” Sheryl Crow, 12 times
23. “The Scientist,” Coldplay, 11 times
24. “Going to Carolina,” James Taylor, 11 times
25. “Everyday is a Winding Road,” Sheryl Crow, 11 times

*This song has a wholly unrealistic advantage over everything else because I once put it on single-song repeat and then muted it while playing some game. Thus, it’s waaay ahead of the pack but by no means my favorite on the list.

Most of the songs in the top 20 or so were on a playlist of, hey, Joni Mitchell and James Taylor songs that I used to listen to on loop while playing the stupidly addicting Inspector Parker game. I wish my car would compile a list like this, as it would be completely different and include many more up-tempo numbers (though recently “Weather Channel” would make the cut in both places – I’m a little bit in love with that song, and intend to say more about that later. No, really, I do. I’ve already partly written a worshipful entry and now I must wait for the love to fade a little so I can complete it without stumbling into things like itsjustsogoodandiloveitandit’susestheworldpanaceayayayayay).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Top 25 on the Play List

  1. therealjae says:

    The playcount thing scares the shit out of me because it tells me just how obsessive I really am.

    The most frequently played song on my list: 206 times.
    #2: 166.
    #3: 77.

    Et cetera. I scare myself.

    -J

  2. kepkanation says:

    I think I’d be much higher – I know I would have been higher at the newspaper when I started using iTunes, because my computer wasn’t facing a television. Now, though, I face the TV and don’t play music as often as I used to. I’m sort of appalled at how low the numbers are.

    What’s your #1 song, anyway?

  3. therealjae says:

    Crooked Fingers, “Big Darkness”. 🙂

    -J

  4. kepkanation says:

    Ack, should have guessed.

Leave a Reply

