Seven degrees of separation from the Spain bombings?

Also, in random news, Brandon Mayfield, the son of one of my high school teachers, is apparently being held as a “material witness” in the Madrid bombings case. WEIRD. Here, from Yahoo!, is a picture of the teacher, who taught art through my senior year. I never had her in class but did work with her on a few things; interestingly, she did teach my aunt in high school, and my aunt babysat for her son when he was little.

I find it a bit, hm, I suppose the word is offensive that they insist on identifying his wife as “his Egyptian-born wife” in every reference, as though, oh! obviously! she’s from Egypt and therefore, she has made him into a terrorist! Good grief.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Seven degrees of separation from the Spain bombings?

  1. therealjae says:

    Oh, my god. That’s very weird. I wonder what sort of evidence they have against him, apart from the HIGHLY SUSPISHIS issue of his conversion to Islam?

    -J

  2. jensixstones says:

    Brandon Mayfield was in my graduating class in high school in Halstead, KS. My class had only 40 or so students.
    -Jen

  3. kepkanation says:

    Wow, that makes my head explode, too.

    Lunch this week? Wednesday @ 11:30 or Tuesday/Thursday at 12:15ish?

  4. kepkanation says:

    It is suddenly an insanely small world.

  5. kepkanation says:

    I wonder what sort of evidence they have against him, apart from the HIGHLY SUSPISHIS issue of his conversion to Islam?

    Apparently there’s something, but that’s really what they keep noting in every story about him. Mayfield, who converted to Islam and married a woman from Egypt, blah blah blah. I have a few journalistic problems with that beyond my emotional reaction of “stop it! you morons! Islam does NOT = terrorist!” In particular, the constant mentioning of his wife’s origin is disturbing to me, in that the rule we learned was that a person’s race/ethnic background is not supposed to be mentioned in a news story unless it has a direct bearing on what’s being reported, i.e., if someone was attacked because they were born in Canada, it would be appropriate to put that in the story; however, all else being equal, you leave it out or at the very least you don’t lead with it.

    Sometimes, I worry that I learned only enough journalism to be dangerous and annoying.

Leave a Reply

