comfy shoes are a must

Shoe shopping was a bust today. I ended up with a new pair of Nikes that I’m not yet completely in love with (here’s a pic – yes, they’re really silver on the toe), but they are so incredibly light that I might keep them around. I am still lusting after the blue & orange adidas sneakers. Oddly, Nordstrom’s carried many women’s adidas shoes but onyl two very lame pairs of men’s adidas. I just need to find a Foot Locker and try on a sample pair from the Spezial line to see if I’d like them. Then, if I bought them, for the first time in my entire life I’d own two pairs of tennis shoes. Woo-hoo!

Dad has offered to buy me the beloved sandals from online or through the store, so that’s very nice and exciting! Sadly, there were no comparable pairs at the store to try on, so I have no idea if I’m going to be ordering shoes that won’t be comfortable. I WILL NOT tolerate uncomfortable shoes. I cringe whenever I hear someone speak of having to build up callouses to tolerate some particularly cute pair of shoes. Why? Why why why?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to comfy shoes are a must

  1. drenilop says:

    YES. Comfy shoes are definitely a MUST. Closed toe, too. You do a LOT of walking when you play tourist abroad — and besides Florence is just a LOVELY city for walking around in. 🙂 If I were you, I wouldn’t leave without two pairs of sneakers, or at least one pair of sneakers and one other pair of comfy, I-can-walk-five-hundred-miles-(or-eight-hundred-and-five-kilometers) shoes. I wore out both of mine in less than 2 mos and had to try to by shoes abroad. ::shudders at the memory (and the price)::

  2. webcowgirl says:

    I absolutely refuse to buy shoes that don’t fit any more. Just forget it! If they are not the right size at the outset … I don’t need them. There are, however, occasional needs for foot toughening, usually when I go from winter shoes to summer shoes. My feet just aren’t ready to have leather holding on to the tops of my arches. However, for me this is usually a very quick process, as I try to avoid shoes with narrow straps and always take new shoes through a multi-day break in process involving wearing them around the house for hours in the evenings.

    These days I buy almost all my shoes online at Sierra Trading Post. (The key to being able to do this is knowing what size you wear in different brands.) Some particularly good brands I can suggest that are only affordable there are Clarks, Naot, and (my favorite) Stonefly. Also, they have a search by size engine, so you might easily be able to narrow down the search to exactly what you want …

  3. webcowgirl says:

    OK, obviously I have a sick and wrong concern with shoes, but I believe that having happy feet on a trip to Europe is very important. The last three times I’ve gone I’ve bought a new pair of shoes, including (I kid you not) a pair of sandals that cost almost $200 (that was for the trip to Spain and I knew I was not going to want to get overly warm feet – but still needed support and lots of foot protection). The winner was a pair of Finn Comfort shoes – broad straps, incredible sole (I couldn’t get over how it felt like I was walking on a cloud), and good connection to the foot (thanks to ankle straps) that meant they wouldn’t be sliding around much. I had *no blisters* after two weeks of walking on cobblestones and they were worth every penny.

    I also am concerned with blending in with the locals, and wearing tennies makes you stand out. The shoes I have recommended to you will guarantee that you’ll be hearing, “Scuzi, signorina, dov’e …” more than once on your trip!

  4. kepkanation says:

    I agree, there’s an allowable transition period between winter and summer shoes, but the pointy toe-breaking shoes that dotted all the displays at Nordstrom’s and threatened imminent pain… no amount of transition could convince my feet they were made to travel in those. *shudder*

  5. kepkanation says:

    Ooo, sandals that are like walking on a cloud? I might have to look into this.

    The sandals I ordered, if they work out, will certainly be for the trip; at least one pair of casual tennis shoes will be making the journey, but I’m not sure how much wear it will get. As you said, it’s going to depend a lot on what the locals are treading around in – though probably the locals I’ll be most concerned with will be the students from around the world at my language institute, and I think sneakers might make many appearances there.

    I’m slowly learning what size I wear in different brands, but I don’t quite know them all yet. Why can’t everyone have a standard size?

  6. kepkanation says:

    At this point, I think I’ll be leaving with two pairs of comfortable walking shoes and two pairs of good sandals, but I have yet to see the weight restrictions for my luggage… so that could be reduced.

    It seems as though I’m guaranteed to be doing a lot of walking around town. I’ve had enough of a struggle trying to find shoes here where I speak the language to know that shopping for new shoes there is not something I want to try!

Leave a Reply

