clear, cool, and rich with eggplant

So, it’s a beautiful, beautiful day in Firenze. Cloudy and cool and, yes, a bit windy, but it’s still beautiful. The temp is probably in the 60s, and I am a happy camper. So what am I going to do with my beautiful day? Spend it in a movie theater, of course! Harry Potter is showing at 3:30 in English, and I still hope to get a ticket when the box office opens at 3:20. We’ll see, I may end up having to wait until July. Sigh. I’m such a dork.

The weekend was rather restful and uneventful. I went to San Marco and looked through the various monks’ cells painted by Fra’ Angelico and his merry monk men. The Savanorola cell creeped me out a bit, particularly his torn cape. Other than that, I had a mostly restful weekend of reading and watching. I took the #22 bus through its full loop to the north
and west of town. I’d like to say I did this solely to get an idea of what the town is like away from the touristy centro, but… I was looking for IKEA. I have a little romance with IKEA. We must find each other in every country. This IKEA was there to greet me when we landed in the Florence airport, but I haven’t seen it since. No matter, my hostess has
promised to find out how to get there via autobus. She, too, loves IKEA, though she usually goes in her car. Don’t ask what I want to go to IKEA for – I know I can’t buy stuff and cart it home. I just want to go and look. Sigh.

I finished Fever Pitch on Saturday afternoon and dug back into Rise of the Vulcans. It’s been fascinating. I’m such a dork, but I’ve started outlining the careers of the different staff members (Rumsfeld, Cheney, Wolfowitz, Powell, Armitage, and Rice). Is it weird that the more I read of him, the more I like Armitage? Maybe a little weird. Still
hate Wolfowitz, still despise Cheney, but that was to be expected. The book has worked pretty hard to make them more human (not in the sense of, “and then he wept,” but in the way that it’s a rounded picture of their careers instead of a singular focus on the big events). Also, the author is trying hard to be non-partisan, though I think in general it’s painting a somewhat negative picture. Then again, it may just be that to me, these actions were negative. Intersting, though. I’ve just reached the “Vulcans in Exile” chapter, i.e., the Clinton presidency. It started with the Nixon era (where Rumsfeld began his story).

And with that, I think I’m going to peruse the U.S. newspapers a little while I munch on my yummy vegeterian “hamburger” from the Vegeterian Take Away restaurant near here. I’m developing a love for eggplant here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to clear, cool, and rich with eggplant

  1. egretplume says:

    Ikea in Europe has different things than Ikea in the US, and a much better selection of furniture for small apartments. I don’t know why they don’t sell the Euro stuff here, at least in places with small apartments, like metro NY. Grrr.

  2. valkyriemoon says:

    woo ikea….
    going to ikea is like a pilgrimage for me

    and eggplant rocks too šŸ™‚

  3. kepkanation says:

    Eeeee IKEA! I wish all IKEA was available everywhere, at the same time that I’m glad seeing one/going there is still such an exciting experience to me because I don’t get to do it so often.

  4. kepkanation says:

    Oh, what a beautiful day I could make of a trip to IKEA and an eggplant sandwich. The D.C. area IKEA (not the new one, the old one) is a beautiful, beautiful place, and still the only IKEA I’ve visited in person, I think.

Leave a Reply

