you are what you read

So I should be talking about the sights and the food
and the people, but I feel like saying, quickly, that
I’ve been reading as much as I can since I’ve been
here. It’s *not* a cheap hobby to have in a foreign
country but it has proven very comforting. I finally
read Middlesex, which I’d meant for a long
while to do but never managed to actually accomplish.
I read Michael Chabon’s The Mysteries of
Pittsburgh
and continued my sick slide into total
love with him and his writing. I read the ultra-trash
book of my life (rivalling only L.A. Dead),
The Cat Who Sniffed Glue, because I needed a
mental break and it was on sale, half-off. I just
finished Jhumpa Lahiri’s The Namesake. I’ve
re-read Harry Potters 1-4 and Artemis Fowl 1. I read
Dan Brown’s Angels and Demons and Digital
Fortress
, and if I find Deception Point
before I leave it will be my airplane book. So what’s
the lesson here? That I read because I don’t have TV?
That without a computer to tap on I dive back into
books, that I become the kid I was in grade school
(and middle and high school) that walked through
stores carrying a book? Partly, yes. But partly,
books have just been something like a reward here. I
buy them as a treat for my over-Italianed brain and
then eat them up like candy. I have discovered the
beauty of reading on the beach, the fun of trying to
read in a bustling train station, the headache of
reading in too much heat, and the defeat that’s
inherent in trying to read when your roommates need
someone to entertain them. The problem now is that
I’ve got all of these thousands of words running loose
in my head, wanting to be sorted out into sense
(particularly from Middlesex and The
Namesake
), but instead of pausing between reads
I’ve been charging (diving! rushing! plunging!)
right into the next. So maybe when I get home I’ll
have to have a little reading detox where I try to
figure out what the hell happened. Or maybe I’ll just
start going to the movies again!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to you are what you read

  1. webcowgirl says:

    When do you come back? Is there time for me to send you a little bookie care package?

  2. phillyexpat says:

    I loved Middlesex-wonderful book. I liked Mysteries of Pittsburgh too, though I preferred Kavalier & Clay . . .

  3. starstraf says:

    when do you get home? Want to do a marathon movie weekend?

  4. simplelyric says:

    That I read because I don’t have TV? That without a computer to tap on I dive back into books, that I become the kid I was in grade school (and middle and high school) that walked through stores carrying a book?

    I’ve found myself retreating into this for similar reasons and in similar ways. It’s odd but also comforting.

  5. kepkanation says:

    Kavalier and Clay is the pinnacle of Chabon’s works (so far?), I agree — and also my favorite book yet this year. But Mysteries was pretty sharp for a first novel.

  6. kepkanation says:

    Oooh, thanks for the offer, but I get home on SATURDAY! I think I’m ready to be back in the States… all of those English-language bookstores I’ve taken for granted…

  7. kepkanation says:

    I’ll be home SAturday evening, which probably means I’ll be a bit zombie-like Sunday. However, if you want to see a movie or two that evening/afternoon, definitely give me a call. The next weekend, sadly, I’ll be way out in North Central Kansas (retrieving my car).

  8. starstraf says:

    Give me a call Sunday maybe we can see a movie then

Leave a Reply

