It’s just that I’m really boring right now

I think it’s official: I really like Dashboard Confessional. Even the titles of their songs are fun: “Several Ways to Die Trying,” “The Ghost of a Good Thing,” and “Carve Your Heart Out Yourself.”

I have, again, done my reading for class like a good little girl. It’s very time consuming, this being a good student stuff. No wonder not everyone loves being a student. All right, I don’t love it always either, but now I have more reason. Anyway, I read two short stories for tomorrow’s fiction class and a few other short stories for the Samurai lit class, and wow, I’m done. No more homework, until tomorrow night. I have been trying to eek out a first scene for screenwriting class, but the problem is I don’t have a 30-page idea for a film in my head yet. I’m hoping it will come… soon. Very, very soon. Like now. On the other hand, I’m bombarded by ideas that I can’t use for my Fiction Writing class — we have assigned prompts for the first paper. Tomorrow will be the first time anyone has brought work in for critique, and I’m anxious to see how it goes.

We did have another thunderstorm, but it wasn’t too bad because I watched a replay of the Kerry interview on the Daily Show at the union. Also I had some very tasty pumpkin bread, with no nuts!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s just that I’m really boring right now

  1. webcowgirl says:

    Please tell me what you’re reading in your Japanese lit class! I’m very interested.

  2. kepkanation says:

    Certainly! I’ll copy it from the syllabus mostly so I don’t get the spellings wrong: We’re currently reading exerpts from “The Way of the Bow and Arrow: The Japanese Warrior in Konjaku monogatari,” out of a journal (Monumenta Nipponica vol. 28 (2) 1973: 177-233). Next, we’re starting The Tale of the Heike, translated by Helen C. McCullough, Stanford University Press. Book 3: Chūshingura, tr. By Donald Keene, Columbia University Press. The rest of the semester is still up in the air, though we’ve been promised “selected plays (both Noh and Kabuki) and selections from Legends of the Samurai, edited by Hiroaki Sato.

    We’re also going to be watching some films… but I don’t have the names yet.

Leave a Reply

