“you can’t beat that.”

“The Daily Show” has just made me aware of Zell Miller’s psycho “I wish we lived in the day where you could challenge a person to a duel” comment, and I’m very alarmed to see he’s winning the CNBC poll over who would win the duel.

The idea of a major Bush jump in the polls after the convention has started to press in a little on the unfettered optimism I’ve been feeling the last few weeks, but… the fetters had to come sometimes. I’ve joined www.drivingvotes.org to start driving over to Missouri and campaigning, so at least I’ll be a bit more active, starting sometime soon.

I’ve developed a strangely patterned life recently. I hate routines but I also tend to do well within them, so maybe I’ll keep this one up for a while. Mostly it involves staying up too late, watching “The Daily Show” rerun at 12:30 a.m. (usually with Brett over IM), finishing homework and reading in the morning, getting to school almost late, leaving work near 5 and coming home to play the Sims. Also I’ve been eating out quite a bit, but nothing interesting: I’ve had salad for dinner three times this week, and not out of some health-food kick but because I crave it.

Tonight I broke the mold a bit and, after walking class, got together with the kids from my Italy trip. So maybe tomorrow or next week I’m going to see some/all of them again, and perhaps I’ll, you know, somehow develop a little social life out of all of this. You just never know, I guess.

The kid who’s story we had to critique for today didn’t show up to my fiction writing class, so instead we did little writing exercises and talked listlessly about a very good story, “Train” by Joy Williams. I made a brief appearance at work, then went to walking class, then came home before going to the little Italia reunion. Oh, the fun.

1). An egg salad sandwich on squishy white bread with no crunchy celery.
2). A decent cold remedy.
3). Some kind of inspiration for any kind of writing, all of which seems to have dried up now that I have to do it for class.
4). Someone to keep me from re-watching Jon Stewart’s 9/20/01 return-to-air-broadcast (and if anyone wants it, I finally have it on my computer). Or maybe someone to make me watch it more often. Like Jon Stewart. So,
5). Jon Stewart to come home to.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “you can’t beat that.”

  1. phillyexpat says:

    Zell Miller’s mom also built their house with her bare hands.

    But that was back when Zell was a Democrat.

    Maybe he’s just suffering from amnesia?

  2. kepkanation says:

    It seems Zell has forgotten much. I don’t know what’s happened to him — apparently he used to be a decent guy and a Democrat (even I can admit that the two aren’t always synonymous) — but he just looked crazy during the speech and in the post-speech Matthews interview.

  3. starstraf says:

    I measured our walking trip – we went just under 1.5 miles

    give pooch a call at the house about Hero (If he’s not there we are running errands and will be back in a bit)

  4. simplelyric says:

    1). An egg salad sandwich on squishy white bread with no crunchy celery.

    I’d be going for wheat bread, but, mmm, an egg salad sandwich without crunchy [or any other kind of] celery sounds very good. I had 3 deviled eggs this afternoon, but more eggs are still appealing. Perhaps I’ll try scramble some for breakfast tomorrow, if I wake up early enough to have breakfast rather than just lunch with my sister. *g*

    3). Some kind of inspiration for any kind of writing, all of which seems to have dried up now that I have to do it for class.

    Which class is it — and, accordingly, which kind of writing? My Writing Fiction text has some interesting prompts and such that I could share to try to help get you started or at least warmed up.

    5). Jon Stewart to come home to.

    I really like The Daily Show with the faboo Mr. Stewart, but I rarely remember to watch it. So, mostly I’ve just been catching the reruns that air Thursday nights after The Graham Norton Effect, which has recently hooked me.

  5. kepkanation says:

    I measured our walking trip – we went just under 1.5 miles

    I’m thinking that I’m going to have to make a 3.1 mile test walk sometime before the actual 5K. Let me know if you want to join — I have no concrete plans, just starting to think it might be a good idea.

  6. kepkanation says:

    I’d be going for wheat bread, but, mmm, an egg salad sandwich

    Ooo, toasted wheat bread with egg salad sounds fabbbbulous. Can I hire someone to make that for me? All the time?

    3). Some kind of inspiration for any kind of writing…. Which class is it — and, accordingly, which kind of writing?

    It’s my fiction writing class, and I’ve finally got two good ideas fighting it out in my head. But I might take you up on sharing those “interesting prompts” from your Writing Fiction book sometime anyway.

    I really like The Daily Show with the faboo Mr. Stewart, but I rarely remember to watch it.

    This has happened with me, too, so I’ve finally set my television to turn itself on at 10 p.m. (11 Eastern) to remind me that it’s time to watch. Of course that doesn’t work if the TVs already on… but I’ve also become good at catching the re-runs (1 a.m. eastern, and then I think at 7 eastern, just after conan). I wish they’d come out with some “best of” DVDs or something… but then again, I’m not sure that these are really shows I would watch over and over and over (the third over being necessary for me to deem purchasing the DVDs worthwhile).

  7. starstraf says:

    I think that would be a great idea

  8. simplelyric says:

    Can I hire someone to make that for me? All the time?

    If you make/come into enough money, I’m pretty sure that you can hire someone to do just about anything you want all the time. *g*

    shows I would watch over and over and over (the third over being necessary for me to deem purchasing the DVDs worthwhile).

    It’s a bit sad just how many shows do fit that category for me.

Leave a Reply

