nothing concise about it.

Ugh, just finished my second column for Evolve. I’m not happy with it, but I’m never happy when I’ve just finished something. The quality of the unhappiness feels a bit stronger this time, though… so who knows what that means. The problem is, I had more trouble being funny this time, because I’m generally feeling pretty bitter about politics at the moment. Also, my ability to be concise has left the building.

Saw Garden State today with Mom. Looooved it. Everything. Really. And now I will have to get the soundtrack. Also we did a little shopping, and I got early birthday presents to the tune of 4 new (well, actually used) books (including The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides and Close Range: Wyoming Stories by Annie Proulx) and a new address book that is very, very amusing.

Then we came home, after driving through a rainstorm, had pie and ice cream, and watched Meet the Parents because Mom had never seen it (and we saw the preview to Meet the Fockers before Garden State).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to nothing concise about it.

  1. therealjae says:

    Warren Kinsella agrees with you about the negative campaigning thing. He even wrote a book called _Kicking Ass in Canadian Politics_. You should read it! 🙂

    -J

  2. simplelyric says:

    And now I will have to get the soundtrack.

    I tried to buy the soundtrack on the way home right after seeing the movie on Saturday night, but the store was closed. So, I ordered it from someone on half.com as soon as I got home. *g*

  3. kepkanation says:

    I’m thinking of buying the soundtrack off of iTunes, so I can have it nownownow, but I really sort of want the actual CD and cover art and everything on this one. Soooo maybe I’ll have to make a trip out to a local music store. I’ve heard it’s just as fabulous as it looks to be.

  4. simplelyric says:

    I’d read quite a bit about the movie’s music and how proud Zach Braff was of it in his blog beforehand. So, I made sure as I watched to pay some extra attention to the songs being used and unsurprisingly realized that I loved the vast majority of them.

  5. kepkanation says:

    It’s good to know that Dana Milbank and I are not alone on loving the negative.

    He even wrote a book called _Kicking Ass in Canadian Politics_. You should read it! 🙂

    I’ll put it on my library request list!

  6. kepkanation says:

    Waaah? Zach Braff blog? I must look into this.

  7. simplelyric says:

    It‘s an absolute riot. I love it. (There’s an LJ syndication feed for alerts when there are new entries, too.)

  8. kepkanation says:

    Thanks! I signed right up.

Leave a Reply

