oh yes, I, too, am soaring over the cliff

Two little quizzes for fun, then off to the gym for more orientation.

Taken from :
Post the first 15 personalized recommendations from your Amazon recommendations list (your “store”) for items you don’t already own:

1. The Daily Show With Jon Stewart Presents America (The Book): A Citizen’s Guide to Democracy Inaction.
2. The Polar Express by Chris Van Allsburg
3. The Perricone Promise: Look Younger, Live Longer in Three Easy Steps by Nicholas Perricone
4. I Am Charlotte Simmons by Tom Wolfe
5. Night Fall by Nelson DeMille
6. Thanks & Giving: All Year Long by Marlo Thomas
7. He’s Just Not That Into You: The No-Excuses Truth to Understanding Guys by Greg Behrendt & Liz Tuccillo
8. When Will Jesus Bring the Pork Chops? by George Carlin
9. The Plot Against America: A Novel by Philip Roth
10. Imperial Hubris: Why the West is Losing the War on Terror by Anonymous
11. The Kite Runner by Khalid Hosseini
12. London Bridges by James Patterson
13. Eats, Shoots & Leaves: The Zero Tolerance Approach to Punctuation by Lynne Truss
14. Mystic River (3 Disc Deluxe Edition)
15. The Wedding Singer Volume 2: More Music from the Motion Picture.

And from : Post a favorite line from a film here. Any film. Don’t tell me what film it is. Then go tell someone else to do it, or pimp it in your LJ or something. It will be great–Charge of the Non Sequitur Brigade.

My quote: On the run from Johnny Law… ain’t no trip to Cleveland.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to oh yes, I, too, am soaring over the cliff

  1. starstraf says:

    That’s *wonderful*. Go and love some more.

  2. simplelyric says:

    “Isn’t American cheese appropriately named? It’s fake and processed, just like America.”

  3. kepkanation says:

    I had to look that quote up — is it from 100 girls? I’ve never seen (or, truthfully, heard of) that movie. Good? Bad? Worth adding to the Netflix queue?

  4. simplelyric says:

    Yep, it is from 100 Girls. See, when watching an entirely different movie on video, I caught a preview for the quasi-sequel, 100 Women; but for that, I wouldn’t have heard of 100 Girls either. 100 Women stars an actor that I like, Chad E. Donella, so I figured I’d watch the girls in order to prep myself for the women. Of course, because the library turned out to have only the first, I’ve now seen that one without being able to see the second, but, oh, well.

    100 Girls is a lot of bad things: it’s sort of weird, very cheesy, and more than a little misogynistic, even when the main character, Matthew, thinks he’s being more evolved than his womanizing jackass of a roommate, Rod. However, it’s also funny, it got to me in surprising ways, and it actually includes many kickass lines — both in Matthew’s monologues and in the dialogue — as well as, ultimately, a decent message. Plus, there’s cross-dressing. *g* I wouldn’t remotely call it a quality film or a must-see, but if you’re in the mood for something fun, or at least something fun to mock, give it a try. Although I know my time could’ve been better spent, I didn’t feel like I’d wasted it.

    (If you’ve ever seen Eight Days a Week, which I only watched because a male friend claimed it was his favorite movie and therefore something I had to view, you’ll know what to expect from this. EDaW’s style is very similar to 100 Girls‘, thanks to the influence of their common writer/director, Michael Davis.)

  5. kepkanation says:

    I haven’t seen Eight Days a Week or either of the 100 movies, but, as I’ve fallen back into the rabbit hole that is Netflix, perhaps I should add one/all to my queue?

  6. simplelyric says:

    I still haven’t seen 100 Women (which IMDb calls Girl Fever), so I haven’t a clue whether or not that’s worthwhile. If you do end up watching that, you’ll have to tell me what you thought. Both of the other two, though — sure, go ahead and add them. They’ll make you laugh and won’t require too much brainpower after you’ve been dealing with so much schoolwork.

  7. kepkanation says:

    I still haven’t seen 100 Women
    Ah, yes, I meant to solicit advice on the other two. I wish I could set up netflix to mail you one film!

  8. simplelyric says:

    Heh. Well, if I were so inclined, I could easily sign up for Netflix or the Blockbuster version myself. That just doesn’t make much sense until I get my own DVD player, which I hope will happen this Christmas.

Leave a Reply

