Overhyped

offered this link to a special feature by The Guardian on overhyped bands. This is true snark and venom, here, and it’s hilarious at the same time it’s close to target. I mean, I loved reading this and they had the following to say about The Beatles:

Thanks to these four, Britain’s high watermark of musical creativity is still considered to be pub rock made by white idiots.

The U2 comments are harsh, too, but probably deserved.

So in my dream world (where I plan to live until at least Dec. 17), The New York Times would publish a similarly snarky list (I understand that they’d have to hire the snark from somewhere else) of overhyped authors and just go to town on them. I have no doubt that some of my favorites would make the list, but I’m also pretty sure I’d be nodding along with almost all of the comments. Perhaps I’ll publish my own list.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Overhyped

  1. therealjae says:

    Perhaps I’ll publish my own list.

    Is that a promise?

    -J

  2. kepkanation says:

    During finals week, almost all mentions of procrastination are a promise. But I’m trying to put it off until more of my legitimately needs-to-be-done work is complete.

  3. kepkanation says:

    And speaking of music, just as an FYI, The Onion AV Club named “La Maleta Fea” by Crooked Fingers as their #2 “GREAT SONGS FROM RELEASES THAT (MOSTLY) DIDN’T MAKE THE LIST.” Over here.

  4. therealjae says:

    You know, I still haven’t heard that song. I think it may be their only recorded song I haven’t heard — they put it on the anniversary compilation for their record company that got released earlier this year. Now I’m even more curious, though.

    -J

Leave a Reply

