The Year That Was… meme

1. What did you do in 2004 that you’d never done before?
I left the U.S.!

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
Heh, I resolved to post every day in my LJ. Whatever. It was a resolution for me, and I don’t feel my life has been worse without it — my record-keeping for the year is still pretty good.

I will have goals for next year, but they’ll change as time goes on.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
My best friend from high school had a baby. I’m soooooo old.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Not very close.

5. What countries did you visit?
Italy! and England, briefly.

6. What would you like to have in 2005 that you lacked in 2004?
Working TiVo, dammit!

7. What date from 2004 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
May 30 — when I left the U.S. And Election Day.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Not to keep having the same answer, but I think leaving the country was a big step for me. Also: joining the gym, i.e., finally getting it through my head that I need to start taking care of me.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Eh. I have yet to complete my law school apps.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Not really, except for the killer bronchitis in Italia.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
Well, Herbie the LoveBook is probably close to #1, though I’d also have to add the new car stereo — the MP3-playing option is divine.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?
Everyone deserves a party! Um, Jon Stewart. And and her family for painting their house that cool, controversial blue.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?
Well, there’s about 51 percent of the country…

14. Where did most of your money go?
Toward the purchase of my computer, and to paying for my Italian adventure.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Italy! The prospect of President Kerry.

16. What song will always remind you of 2004?
The Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Maps.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
I. happier or sadder?

Happier.

II. thinner or fatter?
Thinner.

III. richer or poorer?
I quote : Well, I’ve got more debt (blasted student loans), but also more day-to-day spending money.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Hmm. Reading.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Oh, eating out. I dunno. I want to say worrying, but it’s not like a spend much time doing that.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?
Con la mia famiglia. Over many weekends.

21. [like last year, there is no question 21]
Rock on. I love slacking.

22. Did you fall in love in 2004?
Only with inanimate objects — books, movies, a particular backpack, etc.

23. How many one-night stands?
None.

24. What was your favourite TV program?
“C.S.I.” Because I’m a LEMMING.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Oh, kind of.

26. What was the best book you read?
I do think it was The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon. I mean, he made up his own words!

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Or rediscovery: A great love of all songs Sheryl Crow, I guess.

28. What did you want and get?
An iBook!

29. [what the hell? There’s no question 29 this year?]
Silly slackers.

30. What was your favourite film of this year?
OK, in quality or quantity terms? I’m sad (well, sort of) to say that the film I saw most this year was Starsky and Hutch, but the best film I saw… I had never seen The Godfather or The Godfather Part II before this year. And I think Sideways was close to brilliant in terms of direction. If the ultimate test of a movie’s quality is how well it achieves the goals it has set for itself, though, I loved Spider-Man 2 for its hugeness.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
25, and I honestly can’t remember. Nothing too exciting. Wait: I had class, 7-9 p.m.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
President Kerry.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2004?
Is this clean? It looks clean.

34. What kept you sane?
Writing.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Haha, I have no shame: Owen Wilson.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
Basically anytime someone mentions “morality” as having decided the election, my blood starts to boil.

37. Whom did you miss?
Many of my D.C. friends — two in particular, with whom I’ve finally begun to reconnect.

38. Who was the best new person you met?
Gah, I dunno. I met so many cool people this year. Total cop out.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you earned in 2004:
You can’t live forever eating McDonald’s four times a week.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
You have to think figuratively:
“Since I left, I’m feeling better/ ‘cuz that’s what you get when you stay together too long.” Sheryl Crow – Can’t Cry Anymore.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Year That Was… meme

  1. simplelyric says:

    Aww! I feel particularly special for ranking up there with *Jon Stewart*. =D You’re fabulous.

  2. therealjae says:

    Oh, I like you so much. 🙂

    -J

Leave a Reply

