Unspeechless

After seeing Closer and Spanglish on Sunday in rapid succession, I’ve been a little speechless; I still don’t know what to say about either movie. I can’t decide if I want to see them again, maybe not within 15 minutes of each other, to figure out what made me react so negatively/emotionally to both, or if I want to say screw it and move on. Probably option #2, though I might give Spanglish another run.

Anyway, here’s something fascinating: The AFI has selected 10 “Moments of Significance” for 2004. “The moments range from the cultural debates inspired by the movies The Passion of the Christ and Farenheit 9/11 to the death of Marlon Brando,” but they also talk about “The Daily Show with Jon Stewart” and the vertical integration of Film and TV resulting from the NBC/Universal merger. All 10 points were fascinating to me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Unspeechless

  1. phillyexpat says:

    Wow, talk about two movies on different ends of the spectrum. I haven’t seen Spanglish, but I get the sense that it’s a different world-view.

  2. kepkanation says:

    They are very different, though they both have a couple of eerily similiar scenes.

    What did you think of Closer?

  3. phillyexpat says:

    I enjoyed it. But I love Clive Owen and would watch him read the phone book. And I’ve yet to see Natalie Portman be bad in any movie, even when the rest of the film collapses around her.

    I think it was easier on me than We Don’t Live Here Anymore because the bile the characters spat at each other was somewhat stylized. It was like watching a catfight while eating popcorn.

    I don’t think it’s the best pic of the year in a critical sense, this being a pretty strong year, but I’m pretty sure Owen and Portman will get Oscar nods.

  4. kepkanation says:

    I agree on Clive Owen and Natalie Portman — I found her portrayal both surprising and convincing, and he was just the perfect smug fucked-up lunatic.

Leave a Reply

