Movie #40.

Saw Polar Express tonight, which I’ve been meaning to do since my mother went to see it on its opening weekend and loooooved it. I remember that book so well — we read it just about every Christmas in grade school. It was the must-have book of 1985-1986, coincidentally the year I started Kindergarten. Nicely done, Mr. Hanks. Updated my movies page to reflect that one and the two from the weekend.

The good news is, I have working TiVo!! It’s great, except it keeps recording lots of “Magnum, P.I.” because it’s picked up the fact that I like a). crime dramas and b). the 70s? I’m not sure. I’ve been advised against using the name Dave, so I’m trying to pick a new name. Perhaps Tom, in honor of both Tom Selleck and Thomas Sullivan Magnum III. Or, heh heh, Higgins. OK, that’s it, it’s Higgins.

Time for bed! I stayed up far too late last night, working on my first afghan.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Movie #40.

  1. simplelyric says:

    I’ve heard the movie version of The Polar Express is much creepier and has a more sinister message than the book is/has. Do you think that’s an accurate assessment?

    Yay for working TiVo-Higgins!

  2. starstraf says:

    Aftgan? You are working on an aftgan? Kewl, we should have a stitch and bitch sometime.
    Glad to hear you have a tivo – One of my fears is it would find things for me I would like and give me more to watch.

  3. kepkanation says:

    I’m so behind in replies, this is from last century, but:
    I’ve heard the movie version of The Polar Express is much creepier and has a more sinister message than the book is/has.

    What was the sinister/creepy vibe people got from the movie? I ran it around in my head for a while, but I couldn’t come up with it.

  4. kepkanation says:

    Aftgan? You are working on an aftgan? Kewl, we should have a stitch and bitch sometime.

    I’m all for that. It would motivate me to start crocheting again — I start for a whlie, get all excited about the new project, and then drop it. I wish I could go to the thing this weekend at Yarn Barn, but the family being in town is going to take up more of my time than I thought.

  5. simplelyric says:

    I think the claim was that the movie seemed to deliver a message along the lines of “Believe, or else” rather than “Believe, because it’s a joyful experience.” ::shrugs::

  6. starstraf says:

    there is a “meetup” for crochet, we could get that going and actually work on projects at least once a month

  7. kepkanation says:

    Sounds good to me! I should finish that little afghan after all. What do we need to do to get it going?

Leave a Reply

