Joining Camp Jon Stewart

Suddenly, there’s a Jon Stewart camp? Where do I sign up? Is it a summer camp, or more of a battle camp? Thanks, for the link: “CNN lets ‘Crossfire’ Hose Carlson Go” via AP at Yahoo! News.

Here’s the nicest part:

The bow-tied wearing conservative pundit got into a public tussle last fall with comic Jon Stewart, who has been critical of cable political programs that devolve into shoutfests.

“I guess I come down more firmly in the Jon Stewart camp,” [Jonathan Klein, chief executive of CNN’s U.S. network] told The Associated Press.

He said all of the cable networks, including CNN, have overdosed on programming devoted to arguing over issues. Klein said he wants more substantive programming that is still compelling.

“I doubt that when the president sits down with his advisers they scream at him to bring him up to date on all of the issues,” he said. “I don’t know why we don’t treat the audience with the same respect.”

Bravo. Now, prove it.

How sad am I that there’s no new “Daily Show” tomorrow night? Very, very sad. But Monday should be fun.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Joining Camp Jon Stewart

  1. therealjae says:

    I will definitely be going out of my way to track Jon Stewart down on Monday.

    -J

  2. gotmce99 says:

    The saddest thing to me? At the end of the story, the guy from MSNBC said they think Tucker is a “great journalist.” He may be a very effective talking head, but that’s a far shot from being a journalist.

    At least in my opinion. Who next, Ann Coulter?

  3. bottlesnflowers says:

    John Stewart rocks my world. For some reason I can’t stop picturing him in a bow tie…

  4. kepkanation says:

    Turns out, Jon Stewart gave his commentary on the end of “Crossfire” at the beginning of Thursday night’s show. I didn’t watch it until this afternoon — it was just a tag at the very start of the show. I hope he’ll have more to say later.

  5. kepkanation says:

    It drives me nuts when normal people confused opinion writing and punditry with news reporting; for a supposed news professional to do it — AUGGGGGGH! It makes me want to set someone on FIRE!

  6. kepkanation says:

    Heh, he’d probably be cute in a little bow tie. Particularly if he gets to rip it off of Tucker Carlson, first.

Leave a Reply

