Rabbit rescue gone awry

A small rabbit has lived just outside of my apartment for at least a year now. When it was very, very small, it used to take shelter behind the metal shell plate thing from my grill, which was leaning against the wall; my mother moved the plate in a fit of cleaning and the bunny (which was about the size of a half-grapefruit) had to move out, but he’s been back many times since. For the last two days, which have been quite cold, he’s been just sitting in the grass in front of my door, all huddled into himself and looking very cold and forlorn. He hasn’t moved except to twitch his ears when I shut the door. So, when I came back from lunch today and found him still in the same place, I decided something was probably wrong. I called Operation Wildlife and they told me to catch him, using a towel, and put him in a box and bring him right over. So I prepared the box and the towel and crept out to catch the bunny… but this time, when I got close, he hopped right up and ran away.

So the good news is, apparently he’s healthly enough to move. The bad news is, now I feel guilty that I chased him from his little nest in the ground. I left the box top out leaning against the house. I hope he’ll make himself a new little roost there.

Anyone have any tips on luring a rabbit into a roost?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rabbit rescue gone awry

  1. next_bold_move says:

    All jokes aside, they do like carrots…

  2. kepkanation says:

    Yeah, I’ve thought of making a carrot trail. I can only guess what my neighbors think I’m up to, first stalking around with a towel and a box and then leaving vegetables laying out.

  3. next_bold_move says:

    To hell with the neighbors. πŸ™‚

    Poor bunny. Now I’ll be fretful for him…

  4. drenilop says:

    Try putting a couple of old disrags, or old towels, or old t-shirts or something in there that he can use to nest in. A few bits of carrot, lettuce, or similar things might also be attractive.

  5. kepkanation says:

    Yeah, there’s some hay and leaves in a pile there now; I thought I’d look into throwing some food in this evening. Poor bunny!

  6. drenilop says:

    Hay and leaves work; I almost suggested that but didn’t think you’d have anywhere to get that stuff easily. After all, hay is sold in bales, and most of us don’t have room to store that much in our apts… πŸ™‚

  7. valkyriemoon says:

    i actually have 2 stories that relate to this that happened in the last day. There’s a cat that lives in my neighborhood at home, and over the last 2 years, my mother has been leaving it food. The last few months, it has been super friendly, and when any of us would leave my house, it would rub itself on your legs and meow a lot. Apparently last night, fearing the snow, my mother has let it onto our porch. She just opened the door, and she hopped in. My mother feels better now. 2ndly, today I was walking down my floor in the berks (which is the top floor) and saw a bird in the hallway. Walking on, I realized someone had 1. propped open the stairwell door hoping it would fly out the roof exit, and 2. put out a plate of granola and water. When I got to my door, April was walking out, towel in hand. She was on her way to catch the bird – which she then did, took in the elevator, and let out the front door…

  8. kepkanation says:

    This settles it. I’m going to have to make a much more concerted effort to catch the rabbit tomorrow. I have granola, after all, and I know where to find carrots.

  9. kepkanation says:

    I try to keep a hay bale around at all times. You just never know when it might come in handy. Also, it’s quite tasty with a little maple syrup. πŸ˜‰

    Actually, I don’t know why there’s hay outside my apartment. I try not to think about it, because my best theory so far is that it’s leaking out of the building, because someone decided to use it as insulation.

  10. kepkanation says:

    At least it’s warmer tomorrow. And he’ll soon have carrots to munch on. Things are looking up for the bunny, really.

Leave a Reply

