To Do: Find lists, then complete them

Just a note: I admire people who can make and then stick to To Do Lists. Even grocery lists. If you can make lists and stick to them, having the self-discipline not to, I don’t know, lose the lists or abandon them or turn them into Chinese footballs, then you’re like a little god to me. Just wanted to get that down in writing.

Listening to my “Top 25 Most Played” songs on iTunes on shuffle leads to very interesting combos: the theme from Dragonheart followed by “Free Man in Paris” by Joni Mitchell, for instance.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to To Do: Find lists, then complete them

  1. drenilop says:

    My To-Do lists are an essential part of my life. Actually, there’s only one, and it lives on my computer desktop with an icon smack dab in the middle of the screen. It’s got about a week at a time listed in bold, and under each day is the random stuff I think of that I think needs to get done that day. And then there’s a text box on the side for groceries, another for longer-term/bigger to do’s, and a third for stuff to put on days that aren’t on the schedule yet. Part of the morning ritual involves opening the list…

  2. therealjae says:

    What happens when you try to make a to-do list work for you?

    -J

  3. next_bold_move says:

    I’m a huge fan of the To Do list, though I rarely mark everything off of any list. The act of making the list is sort of cathartic, though, and has its own magic.

  4. starstraf says:

    I have a few –
    On my palm pilot
    On my desk is often a todolist for a weekend
    and I have a “post it” program for my computer for computer tasks

  5. kepkanation says:

    I think a list of stuff I need to do for the week would scare the CRAP out of me. I’d stop turning on my computer!

    But I have long admired your organization.

  6. kepkanation says:

    Writing down everything I need to get done just somehow makes real all the things I’m NOT getting done. I don’t get that sense of accomplishment that everyone seems to get from crossing things off — instead I go, CRAP, there’s still 300 MILLION things to do on this list! So essentially, To-Do lists depress me. Also I tend to lose them.

    A hold over from childhood is that I think I see the need to make lists as some kind of weakness — not in others, but in myself, as though I should be able to just remember things and do them. It’s like when we’d play the games in grade school to see how many things you could remember for how long without messing them up, and I always needed to be the winner… I’m sure there’s a whole psychological weirdness to work out about this list phobia.

  7. kepkanation says:

    Eek, I have the exact reverse reaction to list-making. I see everything I need to get done on paper and it’s always MORE than I thought I needed to do! It suddenly becomes stress ON PAPER, which is somehow much worse than stress just in my head.

  8. kepkanation says:

    I think my dislike/inability to properly use To-Do lists is one of the reasons my Palm Pilot and I never really got along. You’re admirably organized, though. You’re like six or seven little gods to me on the organizational front.

  9. drenilop says:

    No, it’s actually not as bad as it seems. It’s broken up day-by-day, so it’s realy just THAT day’s to-do, plus things that I need to remember to do on other days. If a week doesn’t work for you, only put 2-3 days; I’ve got a separate list of all the academic tasks I need to do in a given weekend (diff from all the assorted to-do’s like Call Bob, mail Discover bill, etc.).

    Though might I dare to say that perhaps not-turning-on-the-computer might HELP to get the to-do list done?? 😛

  10. starstraf says:

    I cross the line from time to time between admirably organized and obsessivly organized. Being with Pooch usually keeps me on the admirably side of the line since he is not organized

  11. simplelyric says:

    If you can make lists and stick to them, having the self-discipline not to, I don’t know, lose the lists or abandon them or turn them into Chinese footballs, then you’re like a little god to me.

    I . . . am so *not* one of those people.

  12. kepkanation says:

    But you’re still like a little god to me. Actually, I was just thinking about this today, and I should try and catch you online soon or call you or something — what are you doing in, say, the middle of March?

  13. simplelyric says:

    Have you seen Wonderfalls? If not, I’d be happy to loan you my DVD set. Anyway, the only way I could imagine myself as a little god would be if I were one of the manufactured animals that talked to the main character of that series. But I appreciate the thought. *g*

    I’m sorry I haven’t had a chance to call you yet as I’d said last week that I hoped I would. Maybe I can try and reach you over the weekend.

    In March, all I know of in terms of plans is that there are a few shows, like Movin’ Out, to which my parents were considering getting tickets for our family. I’ll ask them whether anything has been definitely scheduled.

  14. kepkanation says:

    In March, all I know of in terms of plans is that there are a few shows, like Movin’ Out, to which my parents were considering getting tickets for our family. I’ll ask them whether anything has been definitely scheduled.

    Well, would you be up for a weekend visitor? I’m itching to road trip and I haven’t enjoyed Ohio (or your company, in person, unless I’m blanking) since your graduation. BUT, if March isn’t a good time, we’ll postpone to summer, or if you’d rather, instead of me inviting myself (sorry!), you can come out and see me!

  15. simplelyric says:

    When in March is good for you?

    We do have tickets to an event on 3/19, and I’m not sure how pricey they are or if we could get another seat anywhere near ours, so I’d suggest trying to avoid that weekend. Other than that, nothing else in March has been set; I say, consider me available. (Really, you’re welcome any time, but I’d feel bad if you came when I was already stuck doing something else part of the time.)

    I’m all for you coming here. And it’s not as if we couldn’t *also* work on plans for me to visit you out there in the summer or fall. =)

Leave a Reply

